Yankee Candle: Storm Watch (U.S. Seasonal, Limited Edition)

I’ve been coveting Storm Watch from the second I found out about its existence. A colleague told me about a pack of limited edition tea lights an American friend sent her and how she’d been using them carefully over the last 18 months or so, for fear of running out. As luck would have it, she was also a generous soul and returned to work the next day holding two of them in her out-stretched palm, just for me. I’m sure you can imagine that the first thing I did was shove them up my nose.

I’m terrible with scents, so I did a bit of research on the Yankee Candle website and found that it didn’t offer much in the way of explanation, but did state that its supposed to mimic the moist, cleansing ocean air before the storm.

Moist *shudders*

However, the description I can attest to. It’s got that electrical storm feel to it, salty yet almost woody. Breathe in deeply and its like inhaling actual sea air.

I kept them aside for a while, afraid to use them as they are hard to get hold of in the UK. But I bit the bullet this weekend and lit one in my tart burner (with Lemon Lavender which is an excellent combination btw). It wasn’t very strong at first but after a while, the whole room smelled like storm clouds.

According to the website, each tea light has a burn time of around 4-6 hours. That’s being a bit generous. Maybe it has something to do with the age of the candle, but I got 3ish hours of scented burning time which was a little disappointing. So naturally, I scoured the internet for more and came up with a single votive on eBay.

yankeecandle

Which, in the flesh, looks older than I am. You can’t really tell because I tried to pretty it up with Instagram, but the wax is starting to flake around the bottom of the candle and has gone from light grey to dull grey. All things considered, it’s the scent that matters and I’m really excited to burn this one (but not until my last tea light is gone).

Leave a Reply

