Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Balm

I’m one of those people who buy little tins of Vaseline or bulk packets of Chapstick, loses them all within a week and ends up using the year old off-brand lip balm from the bottom of my bag. I don’t have chapped lips and any other time of the year I don’t bother with lip balm but in the winter, my skin gets dry . Sick of wiping bits of fluff off the tubes of old lip balm, I decided I would pick up one that smelled nice, that I actually looked forward to using. So, whilst placing a recent Christmas order online at Boots, I ordered myself a Baby Lips Lip Balm.

20151202_111614

First of all, the website is very vague. It has little spots of colour to choose from, without seeing the actual shade of the lip balm. I chose the lilac one, thinking I would be receiving a nice purple shade, and ended up with Peach Kiss. Which is still lovely, just not what I was expecting.

The packaging is nice, it reminds me of a trend years ago when people wore clothes with graffiti style writing on them. Only a bit less 00s and tacky looking. It seems strong enough and when I did accidentally stand on it, it didn’t break. I’m the clumsiest person and it’ll probably get dropped or stood on a few more times, so hopefully it’ll hold up.

Peach Kiss, as the name suggests, smells strongly of peaches. It comes in a shimmery terracotta colour, the balm itself being very slick and from first glance, I could already tell that it would not take too long to use up. In itself, thats not an inherently bad thing as I think that the scent will become a bit overpowering after a while.

20151202_11163320151202_111649

On application, the balm is sheer with the slightest hint of colour, probably only noticeable because I know I’m wearing it. It took a very long time to displace, or sink in to my lips and left them no softer than normal. I persevered and after two weeks found no difference, in fact I did find that my lips were drier than before. I will probably continue to use this for a little while longer, to see if it does start working. If not then it’ll be relegated to the makeup drawer.

Unfortunately, this is a rare loser from Maybelline who are my go-to for make up, and I won’t be repurchasing once my tube is either finished or more likely, lost.

2 responses to “Maybelline Baby Lips Lip Balm

  1. Pingback: MUA Matte Lipstick: Wild Berry | Reviews À La Mode·

  2. Pingback: 10 Beauty Products I Wish I’d Never Bought | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

