MUA Matte Lipstick: Wild Berry

I’d like to start by saying that I am useless with makeup. I know how to apply the basics but anything involving cat eye or contouring is a foreign concept. It wasn’t until the last 12 months that I’d even started to pencil in my eyebrows. I can’t remember the last time I wore foundation.

But one thing I do love, is a dark lipstick. Make Up Academy do a glorious number of lipstick shades in their Matte Range for only £1 each. They are an absolute bargain. I own two, one is Totally Nude – which I use as a base for other colours – and the subject of this review, Wild Berry.

wild-berry-open

When I bought it, I didn’t try the sampler because it was Superdrug and ten thousand teens had faffed with it before me, so when I got it home I was a bit surprised its not as purple as it looks. While still being a deep berry shade, its more red than anticipated. I have naturally auburn hair so I tend to steer away from these types of colours but this shade really works for me.

The lipstick goes on easily, despite being matte. I blotted and reapplied and it stayed put from noon until dinner at 5pm. Five hours without a touch up is unheard of for me, even with brands like Max Factor, I’d have to reapply every two or three hours. Unlike other brands, it didn’t leave my lips feeling dry and while they are a bit chapped from the previously disastrous Baby Lips debacle, it didn’t show at all.

Overall, I am in love with these cheap lipsticks. Great colours, great staying power and even better prices.

10628673_10208590163656640_9078509084299881791_o

Lazy Girl Christmas Make Up: concealer, eyebrow pencil, mascara, translucent powder and lipstick

One response to “MUA Matte Lipstick: Wild Berry

  1. Pingback: Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Matte-Lip 3D Sculpture and Colour Liptstick | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

