Top Five TV Shows

This was the most difficult post I’ve had to write so far.

I’m not the most decisive of people. Often, I will spend hours umming and aahing about something before I make a commitment – ending up choosing randomly and almost always wondering if I’ve picked the wrong thing. As you can appreciate, it took me some time to compile this list. Well apart from the number one spot because it was a no-brainer to me. I have amassed countless hours in front of the idiot box during my lifetime so had plenty of TV shows to choose from.

5. Fringe
An FBI Agent must work with an institutionalised scientist and his criminal son in order to solve a string of unexplained phenomena.

Fringe_intertitle

This show has all the things. Crazy fringe science (I see what they did there), Joshua Jackson, comedic timing, alternate universes, numerous feels, insane technology and a cow named Bessie. I remember talking Mr à La Mode into first watching this in our local Blockbuster back in 2008. Yes, I am old enough to have had a Blockbuster card. Fringe is the type of show where you end up sitting on the edge of your seat and shouting at your TV because shit went down and you don’t know how to deal with it like a mature adult. Getting to the end of the season was stressful and so enjoyable – especially with addled little Walter.

lsd

4. Parks and Recreation

parks and rec

Introduced to me by a friend, I fell in love with the crazy world of Lesley Knope, and the Parks and Recreation Department of Pawnee, by the end of the very first episode.  It’s adorable, quirky, heartfelt and so quotable. It’s shot mockumentary style, much like The Office, and the characters are unbelievably hilarious. It stars Amy Poehler, Nick Offerman, Adam Scott and Aziz Ansari – to name a few. The breakout star being Chris Pratt, as the wonderfully hopeless man-child, Andy Dwyer. It also spawned one of my favourite sayings:

tumblr_lt1cgeMnY91qmha4qo1_250

3. Heroes
Everyday people come together with their own unique powers to save the world.

Heroes-Banner

I still get super excited whenever I get to watch this TV show. Imagine all the insane powers you see in comic books and films and step it up a notch. That’s just ONE character! You have the indestructible cheerleader, the flying politician, an office worker who can manipulate time, and of course, the wonderfully terrifying villain, Sylar (Zachary Quinto)

tumblr_inline_ns9uvl5ltE1tw1uw9_500

Look at that glorious face though

It’s one of those TV shows that is totally ridiculous, the characters make stupid decisions, and you still can’t find yourself being annoyed with it. My favourite character, by far, was Sylar. He’s a sadistic, evil man and yet there are moments when he’s so pure and gentle that you begin to almost justify what he’s doing. The cinematography is stunning, and the plot is flawed, but it draws you in nevertheless. And even though the last two seasons were on the naff side, Heroes will always have a special place in my heart.

2. Sense8
I’ve spoken about Sense8 before (you can read my review here) so I won’t go into much detail.

Sense8-1x12

A group of people around the world are suddenly linked mentally, and must find a way to survive being hunted by those who see them as a threat to the world’s order” this show is fucking fantastic. If you like beautiful locations, gorgeous cinematography, a talented and wonderfully attractive cast and an edge-of-your-seat story line then watch this show. But if will leave you feeling like this:

sense8

Now we come to the one you’ve all been waiting for. The top spot. Numero Uno.

This is a show that I have been head-over-heels in love with since I was 11 years old. That I wrote fan fiction for as a teenager. I tried to emulate the outfits. I wanted to be in that world – and if I’m honest with myself, I still do. It’s been on my Netflix queue since I opened my account, watched and re-watched every few months without tiring of it. I own books based on the show, videos (somewhere in my mum’s loft), soundtrack CDs, official and unofficial merchandise and its never enough.

Buffy-the-Vampire-Slayer-season-one-intro-buffy-the-vampire-slayer-2481663-1020-766

Yes, I’m one of them. A Slayerette, if you will. Don’t worry. I can feel you judging and I’m ok with it.

Friday nights from 1999 to 2004, you could find me in my bedroom watching Sky One and then binge watching my old BtVS videos. I watched the Becoming episode so many times that the tape literally snapped. To this day, I still get teary eyed when she (spoiler) stabs Angel through the heart. I cry my little eyes out during The Body, get scared when Buff is battling The Gentlemen and laugh myself sick during Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered.

Let’s face it, Buffy is the original bad-ass bitch. She kicks butts and doesn’t bother taking names. She’s sassy, vulnerable, strong and kind-hearted with a killer fashion sense. She isn’t afraid of anything. She takes control. She’s the woman I wanted to be as a lonely, insecure teenager.

buffy

Buffy was produced by Joss Whedon and was an outstanding programme for its time. It was the beginning of Whedonesque humour, apparent in his current projects – but nothing will ever compare to his magnum opus. It’s smart, action-packed, down-right painful and wet yourself funny. The cast were spot on: Sarah Michelle Gellar, Alyson Hannigan and the endearingly British Anthony Stewart Head are just the tip of the ice berg. And I can guarantee you will fall for either Angel or Spike. It’s impossible not to.

Angelus-angelus-32481332-500-375

I’m an Angel girl at heart

sw8nOA1

but Spike has his moments

If you can get past the 90s outfits and hair, the terribly daft episodes in first season and just ignore Riley completely, then you will understand where I’m coming from.

Leave a Reply

