Top Five Films

Let me start my saying: don’t expect any masterpieces here. I’m a simple girl with simple tastes. I like what I like, whether the film in question won an Oscar or a Razzie. Its so difficult to pick your favourites. The media student in me wants to choose something spectacular or profound, but the 90s girl in me is whispering “No, don’t even lie to yourself”.

So here we go then!

5. That Thing You Do!

51U2Mg5KyQL._SX940_

I have always been and will continue to be, a huge fan of the 60s. Combine the fashion sense, music and films with todays values and you would have my absolute paradise. This will clue you in on why I love That Thing You Do! so much.

Directed by and co-starring Tom Hanks, this film is based on a garage band’s rise to fame in 1964 – the era of the one hit wonder. Coincidentally, the bands name is The Oneders and later, The Wonders. The cast is a whos-who of 90s actors; Tom Everett Scott, Liv Tyler, Ethan Embry, Steve Zahn etc. It’s fun yet still emotional, the music is catchy and actually pretty good – it was written by Adam Schlesinger of Fountains of Wayne. I loved Steve Zahn as the dopey and lovable Lenny, particularly during Dance With Me.

Also; young Tom Everett Scott. Damn, son.
Guy-Patterson

4. 10 Things I Hate About You

large_Kd5OkBc6GyUa1tIpxYUHLpyE2t

A re-imagining of The Taming of the Shrew, 10TIHAY tells the following story (deep breath):

Cameron (Joseph Gordon Levitt) is in love with Bianca (Larissa Oleynik). Her strict father won’t allow her to date unless her bitchy older sister Kat (Julia Stiles) does first. The spanner in the works is that Bianca likes vapid Joey (Andrew Keegan). So in order to win over and eventually date Bianca, Cameron convinces Joey to bribe burnout Patrick (Heath Ledger) to date Kat.

hl

Its early 00s teen movie gold and no one else can convince me otherwise. I was about 12 or 13 when this film came out and I was just starting to read Shakespeare (and fell in love with Twelfth Night). It’s funny, Heath Ledger sings, its romantic, sad, it gives a good feminist message to young girls and provides me with nice 00s nostalgia. What’s not to like?

3. Donnie Darko

Donnie_Darko_poster

Many people shit all over this film. Apparently it was confusing, pretentious and it just tried too damn hard. I disagree, obviously, as its at number 3 on my list.

Donnie Darko is woken in the middle of the night by a creepy bunny that tells him the world is going to end in 28 days. During his little conversation with said bunny, he narrowly escapes death when a jet engine lands on his house. The bunny then manipulates Donnie into committing sinister crimes, counting down to the end.

Its a mess. Nothing really makes sense. It’s strangely devoid of emotion. All things that should make it a bad film but its not. Its dark, probably a bit over-dramatic, but the cast carries it through, bringing you to a haunting ending that kept me awake at night for weeks trying to make sense of it all. It’s been 14 years and I still don’t have a clue. Some scenes are nightmare-inducing as well. I mean, I’m no Anya but a giant creepy bunny sitting by my bed, no thank you.

uvhXtnq

2. Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1978)

invasion

“In San Francisco, a group of people discover the human race is being replaced one by one, with clones devoid of emotion”. Based on the book of the same name by Jack Finney, I first fell in love with IOTBS after watching it on late night Channel 5 when I was 12. It’s not your typical alien disaster movie. It revolutionised the entire genre. A curly haired Donald Sutherland runs from screaming clones with the object of his affections and a seriously young Jeff Goldblum. The late Leonard Nimoy also had a bit part as a doubtful psychiatrist. In terms of the era, its very 70s. A lot of crying, fainting women and flared suit pants, but it has a lot going for it. I love a good sci-fi horror movie and IOTBS is the best of the bunch.

Plus, the final scene is terrifying as fuck
tumblr_nvcozzYlNM1rzoi3uo4_400

1. Scream

11178230_ori

I wasn’t lying when I said there weren’t going to be any cinematic masterpieces in this post. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen Scream. 100, 200, a million? Who knows?

Teenagers are being slaughtered by a masked killer, focusing on 16 year old Sidney Prescot, a year after her own mother’s brutal murder.

With Scream came the new generation of teen slasher movies. Gone are the days of tits and swampy momma’s boys, or knife wielders in boiler suits. The 90s serial killer was slick, used technology (lol yes, I know) and could be anyone from your best friend to your high school principal. The writing was pretty fun, a shit-tonne of slang and pop culture references. Also, a gorgeous pre-Charmed Rose McGowan. I thought she was the most beautiful woman in the world in the 90s. I still want to be her in Jawbreaker.

Yes, it was just daft and yes, the plot was held together by pieces of string, but I still love it. It’s part of my childhood and you can never replace the films you loved the most growing up. And no matter how old I get, I’ll still panic when someone asks me
scary

Leave a Reply

