Goodreads Annual Reading Challenge

For the last 3 years I’ve taken part in the Goodreads Annual Reading Challenge. I’ve always managed a good number of books, usually beating my target. But 2015 was the first time that I’ve not achieved my goal. Although, not for lack of trying 😦 So I thought I would do a little bit of a breakdown.

I’ve had a Goodreads account since 2013. I love it. It’s honestly the only website that I visit regularly and can spend hours browsing without getting bored. The account is free and doesn’t require much time to set up but sorting out your recommendations pages is a bit of a pain. But once that’s done, it’s done. It allows the user to interact with friends and other book lovers, read reviews, find new things to read and follow their favourite authors. I’ve come across a handful of writers I love that I never would have discovered without this website. Namely, independent author Nenia Campbell.

In January I set myself a modest goal of 35 books, compared to other years, and started out pretty well. In fact, by April I was halfway done. Then life inevitably got in the way and I had to put my reading list on hold. In the end I finished 33 out of 35. Which is nothing to be sniffed at I suppose, but I can’t help but feel slightly miffed that I didn’t get my little congratulatory Completed banner.

The reason I take part is simple: I love books. Plus having a goal encourages me to do more reading, which I had definitely neglected in 2015. In fact, I watched more TV shows than ever. It was a Netflix binge of a year. Goodreads also gives you recommendations based on your read and to-read lists, usually a lot of them are a bit rubbish but you do get some crackers popping up. If you’re really into reading, its definitely worth a go. I also like to look at other peoples lists and compare what we’re reading – because I’m a bit of a book snob on the sly. I can’t count the number of times I’ve seen someone’s list and internally winced, Ew, you’re reading THAT? 

chloe

                   Chloe is my spirit animal

But in all seriousness, its a great tool for people who want to read more and those who struggle with finding something that interests them.

I accessed Goodreads predominantly on the laptop, but I also have the app on my Kindle Fire and I had it on my phone but I rarely tend to use it for reading anymore. The Kindle app leaves a lot to be desired so unless that’s your sole internet access point, I wouldn’t recommend it. It’s really easy to add, update and review books on each method and although I don’t review books very often, its nice to have the option.

You can view my 2015 Challenge here. For funs’ sake, I’ll include my reading list below. Please bare in mind that I chose a lot of short, easy reads as I didn’t have much time so try not to judge me too harshly lol.

999: Twenty Nine Original Tales of Horror and Suspense by Al Sarrantonio
Clean Food Diet by Johnathon Vine
Flawless by Sara Shepherd
Forsaken (Daughters of the Sea) by Kristen Day
Coraline by Neil Gaiman
Seeds of Yesterday (Dollenganger 4#) by V.C. Andrews
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Don’t Breathe a Word by Holly Culpala
Bitter End by Jennifer Brown
Bumped by Megan McCafferty
Thumped by Megan McCafferty
Deadline (Newsflesh 2) by Mira Grant
Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield
Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
Jenny Pox by J.L. Bryan
The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
The Dead-Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan
The Dark and Hollow Places by Carrie Ryan
Silence by Natasha Presto
Broken Silence by Natasha Preston
Slated by Teri Terry
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth
Live Through This by Mindi Scott
Lessons from a Dead Girl by Jo Knowles
Dangerous Boy by Mandy Hubbard
Beta by Rachel Cohn
The End of Alice by A.M. Homes
Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout
The Coldest Girl in Cold Town by Holly Black
Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott
Drowning Instinct by Ilsa J. Bick
Every Shattered Thing by Elora Nicole Ramirez

Honorable mentions to Free to Fall by Lauren Miller and Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz as I never finished them.

This list was read alongside many, many pints of Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food and may be a few bowls of popcorn.

Leave a Reply

