UFYH App (Android)

For a while, I was an avid Tumblr user. Like many things in life, the website lost its allure – all but one blog called UnFuck Your Habitat, or UFYH for short. It’s basically a motivational page dedicated to helping people sort out their messy homes/cars/garages etc and aimed particularly towards those with depression who can struggle with the basics. The thing that kept me coming back was the before and afters of people’s houses. There’s something pleasing about being able to see the floors again.

I’m not the tidiest of people, let’s put it that way. I’m quite content with my desk being full of clutter and leaving the draining board full of plates for a few hours. Who dries their dishes anymore anyway? But to be honest, my lazy ways are annoying at best. I needed something to whip myself into shape so I went back to UFYH and after an hour of browsing, discovered they had an app.

I downloaded it straight away and at £0.69 it was a bargain. The app is simple and streamlined with nothing to distract the user from the tasks they are setting themselves. The first thing I did was play around with the features.  There are several options to choose from, all designed to get you going and get at least one thing done.

Screenshot_2016-01-10-18-37-17 Screenshot_2016-01-10-18-37-21 Screenshot_2016-01-10-18-37-33 Screenshot_2016-01-10-18-37-39

The thing I’ve used the most so far is the 20/10 Timer. It’s a great way to get your house in shape when you’re tired, you don’t have much time or you just can’t be bothered. To put it simply, you clean for 20 minutes then take a 10 minute break and start again. It’s a basic principal thats easy to follow and before you know it, you’ve done loads. The timer doesn’t have a start/stop feature unless you want to cancel the task which is a bit annoying if you have to say, answer the door or something. It also isn’t accessible if your phone screen is locked. When the alarm (nuclear siren) went off, I had to reopen my phone, reopen the app and then restart the timer. While it works for its intended function, its not incredibly helpful in this capacity. My only other issue is that the timer can only be set for one lot of 20/10. It would be good to have the option to set it for multiple sets. For example, 4 x 20/10 if you’re house is as messy as mine was.

For every challenge and To-Unfuck List item you complete, you win an achievement to give you a semblance of progress within the app. I have to say, it is satisfying to get a little reminder that you’re getting there.

Overall, I don’t really have many complaints. It’s helped me get my Christmas-messy house into an acceptable condition. I will now be allowing people into my home again.

Leave a Reply

