Lush: Top 5 Worst Products

I am an enormous Lush fan. I spend practically all my spare cash on their products. There are few things I love more than receiving a Lush delivery and even though I already know what I’ve bought, I still get a thrill on opening the box and going through all the products. Even more so when I have samples to try. So I hope you can imagine how much it pains me when I really dislike a product.

Please bare in mind that these did not work for me, but have worked for other people.

5. Squeaky Green Solid Shampoo Bar
Back when I very first started shopping at Lush, I was experiencing some serious build up on my scalp. My hair was so overloaded with shampoos, conditioners, frizz treatments etc. that it felt greasy all the time and I couldn’t do a thing with it. Even products designed to remove build up refused to get rid of the stubborn mess I had going on. I read up on Squeaky Green in store, it promised to leave my hair clean and natural. From what I remember, it smelled lovely and had nettles in it – which only made me like it more. I gave it a go that night and found my hair to still be very limp and lank. I put it down to inexperience with the bars and over the next month, I used SG every two days in the name of science. I did not overuse, I didn’t leave it in the shower. By the end of the month my hair was horribly greasy at the roots with the beginnings of dandruff (which I have never before or after using this product) the length was also painfully dry and all I had left for supposed 80wash bar was a few crumbly bits. I couldn’t get a brush through it by the time I gave up and went back to Pantene. It has since been discontinued and I am entirely unsurprised. My hair has never been the same since.

4. Seanik Solid Shampoo Bar
On the back of my disaster with Squeaky Green, I was skeptical but eager to give Lush’s solid shampoos another go. The online reviews for Seanik were excellent. It promised to smell like the sea and contained seaweed, which is excellent for my skin so I figured, what could go wrong.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 12.19.20

There are two things that I liked about Seanik. It smells absolutely gorgeous – very salty, lemony and fresh – and it lasted ages. I used to have waist length hair that is very coarse and wavy. Seanik did nothing for me. As with Squeaky Green, it left me with greasy roots, dry lengths and unmanageable tangles. At this point I thought that it was me doing something wrong. So I switched to a sample of Brazilliant which is not great for my hair but I didn’t experience any of the same issues. By the time I came to the end of my bar’s life, my hair was in just as bad condition as it had been with Squeaky Green. Very disappointing.

3. Sparkle Toothy Tabs
Before I tried Sparkle, I used Dirty tabs and loved them but wanted to try something different. Sparkle tasted like grapefruit and black pepper so strong it made my eyes water. I am not adverse to the ol’ pepper grinder so I have no idea why these prompted such a reaction. They literally burned my tongue, did nothing for the whiteness of my teeth and towards the end of the packet, caused toothache like nothing I have ever experienced. Immediately after stopping using them, my teeth went back to normal. Never again, Lush. Never again.

2. Granny Takes a Dip Bath Bomb
I’ve previously written a review about this product in which I professed my disgust at its scent. It’s horrible. I don’t know what it is, but its just awful. It was too sweet, took too long to dissolve, left the water a strange colour and consistency – just no. I’m so glad this was discontinued.

1.Pooh Sticks Bath Bomb
I bought this from the Kitchen last year, the description promised me I would be floating downstream in an A.A.Milne book, surrounded by lovely bits of cinnamon bark and a gorgeous fresh scent.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 12.38.15.png

It was like taking a bath with some twigs.

I have never been more uncomfortable in my life. The scent was fine. It was very neutral and a bit bland. It dissolved fast (which I like, slow fizzers annoy me) but it left the water weirdly rough and had none the softness Lush products normally provides. It also left a water ring on my bath that I couldn’t see but took forever to get off, I’m not sure what it was or why it did it but I seriously did not appreciate it. Every time I moved I was jabbed with bits of tree, they kept sticking to my skin and making me feel a bit sick. When I got out of the bath my skin was horribly dry and I needed to get a shower to exfoliate immediately.

2 responses to “Lush: Top 5 Worst Products

Leave a Reply

