Over the Moon About…Mandarin and Patchouli Gift Set

For Christmas 2015, I was lucky enough to receive the Over the Moon About… gift set from my mum in the scent Mandarin and Patchouli. OtMA is a Boots brand, only available in the UK at Christmas during their annual 3 for 2 Gift Offer. Apparently its a repeat performer, but this year its the first time I’ve seen it in my local store.

The set is comprised of an adorable tin (which I now use to store my tealights), Body Wash 300ml, Bath Foam 300ml and a Body Cream 100ml. It smells gorgeous, mostly of patchouli but with the slightest hint of orange underneath. It’s not overpowering, seemingly quite floral and almost like the toned down cousin of Lush’s Karma. In fact, I tend to team it with Karma Komba shampoo bar as they are so similar.

20160326_121534

The Bath Foam is clear in consistency, and moderately thick, meaning that it doesn’t glob all over the place when you’re using it. You only need a bit (maybe a capful) to produce a nice amount of bubbles, that last a long time. I ended up washing mine down the drain after about half an hour. It leaves the water a very, very light blue in colour (which is strange considering there is no colour to the product) and I ended up mixing in a little of Lush’s pink Bunch of Carrots bubble bar to give it a little something, turning the water a pale lilac. It didn’t alter the scent at all, which was nice. However, the foam does nothing for the skin and left mine incredibly dry, which gave me a chance to use the Body Cream.

As with the Bath Foam, the Body Wash is also clear but with a more gel like consistency. It lathers well and rinses quickly – unlike some body washes that seem to linger on the skin for a while, especially when used in the bath. After getting out of the bath my skin was incredibly dehydrated and felt rough, which was something I had not experienced in a very long time.

I turned to the Body Cream to revive my dry skin. It’s white and very thick, sinking into the skin quickly and without a greasy residue, which I always appreciate. I used roughly a quarter of the small tub per application and found that despite the thickness, it didn’t really do much for my skin. It left me smelling nice, sure, but only took the edge off the dryness that the Foam and Wash had caused. By the time I got up the next morning, my skin was back to normal so it did work in the long run. I’ll definitely continue to use this, but instead of reserving for deep hydration (as I normally would with Creams and Butters) I’ll use it daily. It smells too good to waste!

20160326_121713.jpg

Overall, I was impressed with the tin, the scent, the longevity of the Bath Foam, the consistency of the Body Wash and the delicate hydration from the Body Cream. This is definitely a gift set for someone who loves patchouli as it could be a bit overpowering when used all in one go. As patchouli and mandarin are two of my favourite scents, this was perfect for me.

3 responses to “Over the Moon About…Mandarin and Patchouli Gift Set

Leave a Reply

