March Beauty Haul!

 

I had an unexpected amount of spare cash this month and thought I would treat myself to a few “essentials”. I’m trying to take an interest in hair and makeup and all that noise, so I picked up a few beauty type things as well as some other stuff.

It’s been a while since I bought a bath bomb and I was starting to feel a bit worried about my dwindling supply. I only had 4 left and it was concerning to open the drawer and see the bottom panel. Eep. I sort of went a bit overboard, but this should last me a while, especially since its getting warmer and I’m less inclined to take a bath in Spring/Summer.

Starting with Lush

In the left picture we have: Karma Komba Shampoo Bar (for a friend), Coalface Soap, 2 x Dreamtime Bath Melts, H’Suan Wen Hua Hair Treatment, 2 x Ickle Babybot Bath Bombs and a bunch of samples.

I’m excited to use H’Suan Wen Hua even though it smells horrific. It’s like snorting Chinese Five Spice. Do not like. But I will use anything to achieve soft, hydrated hair.

Coalface was one of the very first things I bought from Lush and I used it for about 6 months before it stopped working for me. I then moved on to others, namely Buche de Noel (which I have a surplus frozen and ready for when my skin gets out of control), Angels on Bare Skin (thumbs down) and Movis, which smells rancid and made me feel sick. I’ve repurchased with the hope that it’ll work for a while and then I can swap back to Buche de Noel at Christmas.

In the right picture we have: Floating Island Bath Melt, 2 x Dreamtime Bath Melts, 2 x Ickle Baby Bot Bath Bombs, Big Blue Bath Bomb, Jungle Hair Conditioner, Twilight Bath BombA French Kiss Bubble Bar, T for Toes Foot Power (for Mr à La Mode) and Foot Soak and Fancy Free (also for Mr à La Mode) – plus more samples.

As you can see, I really like Ickle Baby Bot and Dreamtime. Anything that will help me get a goodnight’s sleep gets a thumbs up from moi. Both items, as well as A French Kiss and Twilight, contain a huge amount of lavender which I credit for being a drowsy-maker. I struggle to sleep sometimes and it’s not often that I feel rested in the morning so Lush is a lifesaver, in this respect. Any of these items used with Dreamtime Temple Balm and I am out like a light.

Jungle is also a repurchase as I haven’t bought it since the new version was released. I slightly begrudged getting it (even though I love it) because I loved the old design and shape, but it smells the same so fingers crossed. Although this new version is more like a soap so it might be easier to use in the long run. Jungle smells tropical and musky, it’s absolutely divine but the Lush community seem to have a love/hate relationship with it.

I don’t know about anyone else but lately, Lush staff have been incredibly generous with the samples when you order online. In the first box I only asked for Karma Soap sample (the little red square, smells amazing FYI) and got all those. In the second i asked for Serendipity Soap (lilac semi-circle) and got all those others too. It’s great, if like me, you’re always looking for new things to try. Plus, Lush is expensive and I don’t want to shell out for something that I might not enjoy.

Pretty Suds
Pretty Suds are a cruelty free, vegetarian bath product company based in Rotherham. I’ve seen their bath bombs on Instagram a lot but never really paid any attention until this month when I saw their Sunny Side Up Egg Box. Its 5 bath bombs from their regular range and one mystery bomb. They had a giveaway on where if you found a glittery blue or golden egg, you could win prizes. I bought 2, one for me and one for my niece and won free bath bombs in both of them. The kicker being that for every box sold, they donated an Easter Egg to a child in care. I love small companies and especially those that get involved with local charity. So, huge thumbs up to Pretty Suds for that alone.

The bath bombs in the set are Hawaiian Sunset, Zinger!, Moonshine, Strawberry Milkshake, The Bee’s Knees and the mystery egg turned out to be Rhubarb and Custard.

In the second picture, there is: Water Malone Bubble Bar, Sea Glitter Shower Jelly, Blue Lagoon Wax Melts, Bayside Marina Wax Melts, Winter Delight Wax Melts, purple Rain Drops Oil Burner and a free soap which I think is Hula Dancer, although it’s not labelled.

Everything smells absolutely stunning. I can’t believe I’ve never shopped with Pretty Suds before. I’ve already used two of the bath bombs and I’m currently burning 2 small chunks of Blue Lagoon which is filling the room with a wonderful aroma. I’ve already decided that Hawaiian Sunset bomb is my new favourite and I’ve placed another small order for a few more bits and pieces.

It’s also incredibly generous to send a free gift with my second order. In each box you also get your invoice in a little blue envelope with a handwritten note from Chloe, the owner. It’s the personal touches like these that have piqued my interest. I’m also really happy with the quality of the bath bombs. Considering their size, their made a massive impact on the water and my skin – which is always a bonus.

Boots and Superdrug
I’ve lumped these two together because they were quite small orders and they both sell the same things – I only placed two orders because they had better offers on for the things I wanted and it worked out cheaper, even with delivery charges.

In the box on the left I bought: Maybelline Matte Mousse Foundation in Light Porcelain, Maybelline Age-Rewind Eraser Concealer in Nude, MUA Eyebrow Pencil in Blonde, MUA Metallic LUXE Lips in Spark, Mitchum Anti Perspirant, Gillette Simply Venus Razors and Superdrug Face Masks in Cooling Cucumber, Dead Sea Clay and Sugar and Spice.

I’m a big fan of Maybelline makeup and yet I’ve always found their foundations to be too yellow. I’ve had the Mousse foundation before, back when it was first launched and they didn’t do a massive range of colours but, I read a few reviews on Light Porcelain that promised pink undertones. I tried a little on my hand and it blended in fairly well, so it should be fine. If not, it was half price so I don’t mind too much. I also picked the wrong colour concealer, I thought I’d ordered Light but instead I ordered Nude. Hopefully, it won’t be too dark under foundation.

MUA eyebrow pencils are my cheap and cheerful beauty staple. For only £1, it fills in your brows and lasts all day. I use blonde even though my hair is now pretty dark, because I don’t like the heavy brow look and this product matches my natural eyebrows really well. The LUXE lipgloss I picked up was mislabeled as a Lacquer (which is a matte long-last wear liquid lipstick). I really love it. It’s incredibly purple and something I won’t be able often but, still. So sparkly.

On the right, I bought: Boots Style Works Head Defence Spray, Garnier Micellar Water, Maybelline The Blushed Nudes Palette and Mayebelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner in Black.

I’ve heard good things about Garnier’s Micellar water, mostly from Boxes of Foxes. I tried it this morning to take off my trial run gel liner and it does work pretty well. I might stock up while it’s on offer for £1 at Boots right now.

I’d been looking for neutral eyeshadows that weren’t boring so The Blushed Nudes is perfect for me. It’s soft, pink toned colours are just what I wanted. They are highly pigmented and very soft shadows. It also comes with a free brush that I probably won’t use but it seems to be a of a moderate quality.

Leave a Reply

