Lush: H’Suan Wen Hua Hair Moisturiser

Recently, I cut my waist length hair to just above my shoulders and it was the best decision I’ve made in a long time. Gone are the days of getting sections of hair trapped in car doors, picking balls of matted grossness out of the drain and spending what felt like years grooming. Ok, well may the last one is still a bit of an issue as I do have enough hair for about four people.

12657415_10208878579786863_293650650362193017_o

With short hair comes new responsibilities. No longer can I just throw it up in a pony tail and forget about it, or curl it and let it fall fancy free. I’ve had to up my styling game and to do that, I need to get it under control. My biggest hair contender is of my own making. I over wash, over straighten and have always undernourished. So, after finding split ends in my new do and being horrified by my own lack of attention to my locks, I turned to my main man Lush for help.

Fast forward two days of umming and aaahing over their treatments, a quick useless trip to Boots to see what was comparable (nothing) and 17+ YouTube review videos and I ordered myself H’Suan Wen Hua Hair Moisturiser.

“Full of protein-rich, nourishing ingredients to revive your hair and improve its condition. Free-range eggs are full of protein and have been used for centuries to help strengthen the hair. Fresh bananas and avocados, which are both rich in oils, deeply moisturise and soften the hair. We believe good hair starts at your roots, so we’ve added bay leaf infusion and cinnamon leaf oil to stimulate the scalp. Massage a generous amount into dry hair and leave for 20 minutes before shampooing and conditioning”.

Pictured here with a Superdrug Cucumber Cooling Clay Face Mask, H’Suan Wen Hua was pretty thick and a very peachy colour. I really did not like the smell at all. It mildly horrified me that I was supposed to put this on my head.

office.gif

The info on Lush’s website says it smells like Chai Tea but it only reminded me of Chinese Five Spice. That being said, over the 20 minutes I left it resting on my hair, I kind of got used to it. I still didn’t like it, but it wasn’t as offensive as it was in the tub. This happens quite a lot with Lush products and I usually end up in love with them so I didn’t let the smell deter me.

Application is really easy, just scoop up some and smooth it into your hair like you would with a hair dye foam. Once your hair is coated you need to let it sit for 20 minutes. I was doing other things so I wrapped my hair in cling film, slapped the Face Mask on and got stuff done. FYI, I was really impressed with the Face Mask. For £0.99 it was a very thick clay that cooled and calmed my skin, taking the redness out of my impurities. It also left my face feeling really nice. But I did look like Mrs Doubtfire when I had it on.

When I finally got in the shower, I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to rinse the treatment out first and then shampoo, or shampoo with it still on. So I rinsed most of it out, and then used Jersey Bounce, followed by American Cream conditioner. I couldn’t really tell in the shower if it had made an impression but once I combed through my hair it was obvious that it had worked. I didn’t have a single tangle, the brush just slid through my hair like I was a goddamn Disney princess.

ariel

My hair dried quickly without even having to use a brush, which is totally unheard of. I can never style-dry but brush drying is a must as my hair tangles like headphones in a pocket. It took me only about 5 minutes per side of my head, compared to my usual 10. My hair has so much volume, which I rarely get due to the sheer weight of it. And it’s so soft!!!!

Please excuse the red face and ratty t-shirt. I can’t cope with any kind of heat and the t-shirt is super comfy.

Left: Side one dry
Right: All dry

I also managed to straighten my hair in less than 15 minutes! I nearly cried with glee at the way the straighteners glided through my mane. My hair had a gorgeous shine to it, it was super soft. The chai smell was still incredibly strong though, but it’s something I can learn to love if it makes my hair feel so wonderful.

Left: look at that natural shine, yo
Right: Post-straightening

Unfortunately, my style didn’t hold overnight but this is nothing new, and if I go anywhere today I’ll have to re-straighten but it won’t take but 5 minutes. Overall, I’m really impressed with this product. I used about 1/3 of the tub so I’ll get another 2 uses out of it.  It cost £9.95 for a 225g tub so value wise, its well worth it.

One response to “Lush: H’Suan Wen Hua Hair Moisturiser

  1. Pingback: Lush: 6 Month Empties | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

