Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner

In my ever-expanding quest for new ways of attempting the cat eye effect, I stumbled across (deep breath) Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner on Boots.com a couple of weeks ago. I’m a fan of Maybelline make up. In fact, the first foundation I ever bought from a proper shop (and not just a naff off-brand market stall) was Wonder Finish which was not great and was discontinued in 2007. Over the years their quality has improved tenfold and despite its affiliation with L’Oreal, who have a pretty sketchy reputation, I’m rarely displeased with their products.

Anyway, back to our feature presentation.

I forgot to take a close up picture of the packaging before I recycled it but it was very minimal, which is always nice. I can’t bare when you get a product in a box in a box. Or one that has about 19 different plastic components to peel off. I know it’s for keeping all the germs at bay, but still, come on make up companies!

The product itself is fancier than I was expecting. I anticipated a clear plastic pot with a crappy plastic screw top lid and a terrible brush that didn’t work at all. It was only after I placed the order that the latter sprang to mind and I realised I probably should have ordered a proper eyeliner brush to go with. But hindsight is 20/20. Instead of unsightly plastic, I got a frosted glass pot with a metal lid. See how cute? Also, the brush is double ended. The thin end is for cat eye and the thick end resembles one of those rubbish eyeshadow brushes, I assume this for a smokey eye. This filled me with a fair amount of hope and trepidation.

20160409_193334.jpg

Worst photo ever. My house has terrible lighting

My first attempt at using the thin end for cat eye went terribly. I don’t know why I just can’t get the angle right, then if by some miracle I do, I mess up the rest of it. The flick is never a flick, just a blobby smudge. After a week of trying to do it, on and off, I got fed up and put it away thinking that I had just wasted £7.99 on yet another gel liner I wouldn’t use.

I had an event today where I had to get dressed up and none of my make up seemed to cut it so I pulled out my gel liner and in desperation to make something happen, I gave it another shot. I discovered two things:

  1. Cat eye is never going to happen for me
  2. I look hella good with minimalist top-lid liner

I wasn’t paying attention when I started my eyeliner and used the smokey eye side of the brush to apply a thin line across the top of my lids. I didn’t blend out, just did one swift line that ended at the outer corner. No wobbles, no blobs, no feathering, just a perf line. I was chuffed to say the least. Despite the thickness of the foam brush, it allows you to get really close to the lash line, meaning you don’t have that annoying gap between it and your mascara.

post-60053-Unbreakable-Kimmy-Schmidt-its-MKk8.gif

As you can see from the photos (yes that is a 10y/o Family Guy t-shirt), it’s not dramatic and I barely used any product but I loved the simple effect. It made my eyes look bigger and it took all of 30 seconds to do both eyes. I put it on before the rest of my make up incase I messed it up but I didn’t need to worry at all.

It’s been 8 hours since I applied the eyeliner. I’ve been out, about and busy and it’s still perfectly in place. I’m really amazed at its staying power on the skin and that it still comes off easily with my new fave, Garnier Micellar Water. I use the sensitive skin kind as my eyes react terribly to makeup removers and sometimes they break the rest of my skin out, but this hasn’t done any of that. It’s on offer in Boots for £1 at the moment, I highly recommend it if, like me, you have sensitive eyes.

My curls fell out, my eyebrows smeared and my foundation seemingly evaporated but my liner is still going strong. I’m over the moon and even if I never master the cat eye I still have a product and a liner style that works for me.

giphy

One response to “Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Liner

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Make Up Challenge Day 3: Cat Eye | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

