Lush: Dreamtime Temple Balm

Like many people, I struggle with getting a good night’s sleep. I have no trouble with the falling asleep part, I just never feel rested the next morning. Most of the time I feel like I’m drifting wearily through the day, waiting to get back into bed. Which can be pretty depressing, let me tell you. I tried everything the internet suggested, including sleeping routine, having no unnatural light in the room, and having no caffeine several hours before bed time – all with no success.

Recently, I discovered Lush‘s Twilight bath bomb which was the first thing that made me both exhausted at night and feel wide awake all the following day. But, at £3.50 ago, its not cheap enough a product for me to use several times a week. I was sent one of their Relax gift sets last year (I’m not sure whether this was because I had a bit of an email barney with a particularly rude member of staff, or if they mixed up the orders) containing the infamous Twilight Shower Gel, which does almost a good of a job at knocking me out, but I was in need of something to add to the experience.

I occasionally added the Dreamtime Bath Oil and A French Kiss bubble bar (which has become one of my new favourite products) to my night time bathing routine, but still, I wasn’t getting that 100% rested effect that the bath bomb afforded – even combined with the shower gel.

Back in January, Dreamtime Temple Balm popped up in the Lush Kitchen and I had a mini panic. I had to have it. At only £6, it seemed an absolute bargain. This product is available in the Lush Spa stores and I think it might be a bit cheaper there, but don’t quote me on that. Boasting the same ingredients as the Bath Oil, Dreamtime was scented with lavender, chamomile and sandalwood, amongst others.

IMG_20160129_121855.jpg

Pictured with Movis face soap, Lover Lamp bath bomb, Hairy McClairy solid shampoo and some samples

Dreamtime Temple Balm is a light beige in colour but goes onto your skin clear. To use, you rub your finger across the surface a few times and apply gently to your temples. I also like to put a small amount just beneath my nose, so that I can smell it continually as I go to sleep. Immediately after the first application I felt drowsy and did not struggle with falling asleep, or staying asleep. When I woke the next morning, I was more rested than I had been in months.

However, I am definitely susceptible to the placebo effect and in early March I decided to try it over the course of a month before declaring it a godsend. So, after every shower, I popped a bit of Dreamtime on and slept very well. When used in conjunction with my favourite products for a good night’s sleep, I managed to get a full undisturbed eight hours each time. Almost two months on, this has hands down become one of the best Lush products I’ve ever tried. It actually works, it was relatively cheap and a little bit goes a long way. I’ve used it 40+ times and I’ve barely worn away the surface. This product does what it says on the tin and there’s nothing more I could ask from it.

If you’re struggling getting a good nights sleep, I would also recommend the following:

  • A French Kiss Bubble Bar from Lush @ £4.25. You can get 3-4 uses out of this bar which, I think, makes it worth the price tag
  • Dreamtime Bath Oil from Lush @ £2.00. This leaves your skin incredibly soft and can even be cut in half to get another go out of it
  • Ickle Baby Bot Bath Bomb from Lush @ £1.95. More affordable than other bath bombs and it’s not just for babies!
  • Milky Bath Bubble Bar from Lush @ £3.75. It’s lovely and calming after a long day. Great combined with Butterball Bath Bomb
  • Serendipity Soap from Lush @ £3.50 for 100g. I’ve recently fallen in love with this after a sample. It’s heavy on the lavender so you have to love the stuff
  • Twilight Bath Bomb from Lush @ £3.50
  • Twilight Shower Gel from Lush. This isn’t part of the permanent line but is available in the Relax Gift Set @ £19.50 and occasionally pops up in the Kitchen for about £11
  • Radox Sleep Easy Bubble Bath from Tesco @ £1.40 for 500ml. This is a pretty large bottle and one capful will send you off to sleep
  • Planet Spa Sleep Serenity Pillow Mist from Avon @ £4.50 for 100ml. Not the best of the bunch, but it does smell lovely
3 responses to “Lush: Dreamtime Temple Balm

  1. Pingback: My Lush Collection | Reviews à La Mode·

  2. Pingback: Pink Parcel: May 2016 Edition | Reviews à La Mode·

  3. Pingback: Badger Balm Mini Sleep Balm | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

