Biore Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips

I’ll admit, I’m somewhat dubious of the purpose of pore strips. As someone who has battled with blackheads since my early teens, I’ve tried every brand going from Boots own to T-Zone and never had any luck. If anything, using some brands made my blackheads even worse!

It’s not until now, in my late twenties (gulp) that I’ve managed to get my blackheads under some semblance of control. Whittling away at them with a hearty skin care routine of daily charcoal soap, toner and oil-free moisturiser, a twice weekly scrub and a weekly mask has taken away the excess and has gotten rid of a good 40% across my nose. Honestly, I never thought that would happen and I’ve come to terms with the fact that my pores might never really recover but there’s not much I can do about it.

Looking in the mirror, recently, I realised that some of this little babies aren’t simply going to come out with a steam and some gentle prodding. I figured I was going to have to get tough on my nose demons. So, on a trip to Boots, the Biore Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips were on offer for half price and I picked myself some up. Their usual price is £9.49 for 6 so I got myself quite the bargain.

20160514_190653

“BIORÉ® Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips work like a magnet, instantly locking onto and drawing out deep-down dirt & oil that can cause blackheads. Infused with natural charcoal, these innovative pore strips draw out excess oil for the deepest clean. In just 10 minutes, you’ll remove weeks’ worth of build-up” – Boots

My interest was piqued by the added charcoal. I use it in my scrubs and my soaps and it does work. Maybe the amount I use is on the excessive side but I like the smell, ok.

20160514_191254

Lookin’ good

If you’ve never used pore strips before, you use them by cleaning your face and leaving your nose wet. You press the strip onto your nose and leave until the strip has hardened, roughly 10-15 minutes. Then comes the best/gross part – peeling it off, to hopefully reveal an abundance of nasty looking face gunk.

The strips covered my nose area fine. I’m not great at positioning them so they were a little off centre with each application. The tiny perforated slits helped with application as they allowed it to contour to my nose. They hardened much more quickly than others I’ve tried and were ready to come off after 12 minutes. If you’re a little squeamish, scroll quickly.

20160514_192719

They pulled out a fair amount of blackheads, mostly shallow bits but you can only expect to much from some glorified glue. To tell you the truth, I’m kind of impressed. They weren’t harsh on the skin and did what they said they would. Plus my nose was super smooth for days after each application.

That being said, they worked less and less towards the end of the packet. Whether they actually worked or they only do the topmost layer, I’m not sure. But they they aren’t a product I will be incorporating into my routine. Not unless my skin suddenly got out of control. I feel they’d probably be more suited to teenagers who can nip these problems in the bud where possible. Unfortunately, I’m one of those who can never escape the curse of the blackhead.

2 responses to “Biore Deep Cleansing Charcoal Pore Strips

Leave a Reply

