What’s On My Reading List

I’ve always been one of those people who has lined up their next book before they’ve even finished the first. Then, the inevitable happens, I see another book I want to read and before you know it, there’s a little queue going on. This is my current reading list.

Currently Reading: City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments Book 2) by Cassandra Clare

city-of-ashes

City of Ashes is the second in the series about part angels who battle demons. I read the first book of the series, City of Bones, a few years ago and thought it was ok, not bothering to read any of the others. Then Shadowhunters came out on Netflix and I had no idea what was going on as they’d drawn from storylines over several books. I’ve been really trying with this book. It’s not that I don’t like it, or it’s bad, I’m just bored and I’m probably not going to finish it.

Next Up: Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

wutheringheights

I’ve been meaning to read Wuthering Heights since I was at school and I found out one of the other classes were reading it for GCSE while we were doing Jane Eyre (which happens to be my favourite book of all time). Yes, for over 10 years, I’ve had this twisted love story queued up. After Sam told me how much she loved it I decided to finally download it on my Kindle.

After That: Solaris by Stanislaw Lem

solaris

Solaris is a sci-fi novel about a group of astronauts who arrive on planet Solaris and are plagued by memories of their deceased loved ones. I saw the film version with George Clooney years ago and although it received tragic reviews, I don’t think the critics were exactly fair towards the storyline as bad acting tends to overshadow everything else.

Way After That: Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

norwegian wood

Whenever I think about reading this book, I always end up with the Beatles song stuck in my head for what feels like a millenia. As much as I love the Beatles, one can only put up with it for so long. Norwegian Wood is a coming of age story filled with despair.

And Finally : Reunion by Jeff Bennington

reunino

Survivors of a school shooting reunite 20 years later. Reunion is labelled as a supernatural thriller but I’m not sure how yet, which makes it all the more intriguing!

 

Leave a Reply

