What’s In My Make Up Bag?

Recently, I wrote a What’s In My Bag? post and it got me thinking about my make up bag. I don’t usually carry one, having a tiny bag doesn’t allow much space for that sort of stuff, but I tend to keep it on my dresser with all my everyday make up favourites to hand.

makeupbag

1. I bought this cute panda make up bag from Dorothy Perkins last year. It was around £3.99 and I loved it as soon as I saw it.

2. My go-to face powder is Rimmel Clear Complexion Clarifying Powder in 021 Transparent. I have really oily skin and hate the cakey look you can sometimes get with powder. It last most of the day, absorbing 90% of the oil and a little bit goes a long way. For £3.99, it’s a lifesaver and a bargain.

3. I have never been great at knowing what eyeshadow colours suit me. I love dark colours but the application side never goes well so I tend to stick with nudes, especially during the day. I saw this Maybelline The Blushed Nudes pallet in Boots recently for £4, and decided to give it a go. The pallet itself is a bit flimsy and eyeshadow does go all over the place if you’re not careful, but the colours are gorgeous. I adore the bronze shimmer on the bottom left as it really makes blue eyes pop.

4. I love a good body spray and whenever I need to get a new one, I head for Ted Baker. This one is my current beau, and only has about an inch of product left in the bottom. I’ve long since lost the original packaging it came in, so I’ve no idea what the name is. I think it’s been discontinued as I’ve not seen it in any shop, or online, since Christmas. This fragrance is lovely and light, scented with sandalwood which is one of my absolute favourites.

5. I tend to hoard mascaras as finding one that isn’t too dark, doesn’t dry out too quickly and doesn’t smudge whilst on a budget can be difficult. But since I found Max Factor 2000 Calorie in Black Brown, I’ve chucked out all my others. This product has a decently sized wand, it comes off easily with a little make up remover but doesn’t smudge during the day and it gives a lot of volume. What more can a girl ask for when it costs £7.99?

6. This product was actually a hand-me-down from Sabre. I’d been looking for a lipstick for everyday use that wasn’t too dark or drying and voila, she handed me the 100% Pure Fruit Pigment Lip Glaze in Daiquiri. Not only does it smell divine, but it gives a muted pink colour to the lips while moisturising.

7. I’ve had primers in the past but they haven’t done much for me. It wasn’t until I bought myself a Bare Minerals Starter Kit that I finally found a good one. Prime Time keeps your make up in place most of the day and doesn’t leave oily or dry patches.

8. Concealers aren’t something I usually bother too much with but this Seventeen Miracle Matte Concealer Stick in Fair ticks all the boxes. I want something that will cover my blemishes and stay put under foundation. I know you’re supposed to wear concealer over it but, no. And its only £3.99!

9. I’ve been wearing makeup since I was 13 years old and I’ve only ever found ONE foundation that matches my skin tone. Marks&Spencers Limited Collection Foundation in Ivory. I won a gift voucher online and decided on trying some of their own brand make up as I’d heard good things. The foundation only cost £6. Guess what? It’s been discontinued as well! Luckily for me, a tiny bit affords a lot of coverage so I hardly need to use any. I wear makeup roughly twice a week so this little baby has already lasted for a year (disclaimer: this is longer than you’re supposed to use foundation! Don’t keep yours if you don’t want germs) and I’ve used about half of the 30ml tube. I’ll be sad to see it go!

10. This Bare Minerals Powder Brush is the softest and most delicate make up brush I own. I take care of it like its my own fluffy offspring. I cannot recommend this enough! It’s on the pricey side, at £24.00, but you will never need another powder brush again.

5 responses to “What’s In My Make Up Bag?

  1. Hey,such a lovely post and such a gorgeous bag! I’m really enjoying reading through your blog x considering the types of things you blog about I think you might just like my blog too, if you get a chance why not take a peak?

    Thanks, can’t wait to see more from you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

