Junk-Free June: Week One ✔️

Every New Year, since turning 21, its been my goal to lose weight. And every January, it’s lasted about three days. I try to weasel out of it by saying I work late and the boyfriend works shifts so its easier to grab something on the go but, the convenience of popping over to MacDonald’s, or ordering an Indian takeaway is too enticing. So tempting, in fact, I’ve been known to go weeks without stepping anywhere near my kitchen. Which is not good for my waistline or my wallet. That being said, it’s not an excuse. I just plain ol’ can’t be bothered cooking most of the time and I am so whiny/filled with burning rage when I’m hungry.

hangry.gif

When Samm suggested I take part in Junk-Free June with her I reluctantly agreed. As the boyfriend also needs to lose weight, he’s joining in with us. During this month, I will be cutting out all fast food and limiting myself to a calorie allowance. I’m trying to get some exercise in there as well. Its pretty much your standard diet, in hindsight, but I’m hoping it will pave the way for good habits and help me shift this weight for good.

My goal for the end of this month is to lose a little bit of weight and more importantly, to feel healthier. I’m also going to weigh myself every morning to see how much it fluctuates based on what I’ve been eating. If you want to track my progress you can follow MyFitnessPal Profile. I figured the best way to do this would be to write a weekly breakdown so I can tell myself I’m doing okay.

Starting Weight 1st June: 202lbs
Goal Weight 30th June: 197lbs

Wednesday 1st
1/2 large bar Dairy Milk Fruit and Nut
Caramac
Cherry Coke
Mushroom, Leek, Pasta and Meatballs
Aldi Chocolate Mousse

For day 1, this was pretty appalling. To be honest, I forgot I was supposed to be doing it until after I’d already eaten the Dairy Milk.Then a colleague brought in some Caramacs and I couldn’t say no to the most delicious snack of all time.

oops

After work, we went food shopping so I had a quick dinner of pasta and meatballs with loads of mushrooms, leeks and onions to try to balance out the bad of the morning. The only exercise I had was walking to the bus stop, which made me feel a little ashamed.

Thursday 2nd
100g Aldi Multigrain Hoops w/ 50ml Semi Skimmed Milk
2 rashers Aldi Ready Cooked Bacon
2 Jelly Beans
Sugar Free Red Bull 250ml
200g rare Rump Steak
100g homemade Oven Chips
Roasted Broccoli
Homemade Mushroom Sauce
Aldi Chocolate Mousse

Day 2 was a lot better. I consumed a total of 1300 calories of delicious food. I went a bit overboard at breakfast but it set me up for the day, until I managed to eat at 10pm. I was pretty proud of myself for not joining in on Thursday Chippy Club at work, for the first time in a long while. But I had to sit there while everyone had delicious, delicious food. And I walked home (which took almost an hour) instead of getting the bus.

Friday 3rd
60g Aldi Multigrain Hoops w/ 50ml Semi Skimmed Milk
Gammon Sandwich (from the work canteen, but part of the healthy section)
Coke Zero 330ml
200g homemade Oven Chips
Roasted Broccoli, Leek, Onion and Mushrooms
5 rashers Aldi Ready Cooked Bacon
1/2 tin Aldi Beans
Aldi Chocolate Mousse

I got to finish work early on this day so I was home just after 5pm. I was still desperate for chips and beans after seeing my work colleague with hers the day before so I tried to compromise with lots of no-oil roasted veg and healthy chips. It was a really nice, fast tea but then I found the rest of the bacon. Half a packet (roughly 5-6 rashers) was 100 calories so I tried to justify that to myself whilst ignoring the salt and fat content warnings in bright red. However, I stayed within all my calorie/fat/sugar limits so I’m considering it a win. But by the end of the day I was getting hungry again and couldn’t wait for breakfast.

tumblr_mkcavxW82n1s46p8ao1_400.gif

Saturday 4th
60g Aldi Multigrain Hoops w/ 50ml Semi Skimmed Milk
Aldi Chocolate Mousse
Homemade Shepherds Pie
Roasted Broccoli, Leek, Onion and Mushrooms
Aldi Chocolate Mousse
1/2 Large Dairy Milk Oreo Bar

From the moment I woke up, I wanted a pile of salty fries but managed to curb the cravings with homemade Shepherds Pie. The boyfriend wanted chips with his so I made him some oil-free oven chips. He also brought me home a large Dairy Milk Oreo which was 600 calories in total so I ate half as I had them spare. It was a nice treat when I felt on the verge of caving and ordering a takeaway. On this day I noticed that I was constantly thirsty, which is how I’ve felt before when my body is starting to lose weight. So fingers crossed!

Sunday 5th
60g Aldi Multigrain Hoops w/ 50ml Semi Skimmed Milk
Mushroom Pasta Bake
3 Squares Dairy Milk Oreo

It was too hot to go anywhere or do anything on Sunday so we nipped to the shop in the car and spent the rest of the day indoors sulking. We are not Summer people. We are cold and rain people. I didn’t want to cook so the boyfriend had leftover Shepherds Pie and I whacked together a low-cal pasta bake. At the thought of cooking in this horrible heat, I ALMOST GAVE IN but talked myself down from the ledge. We also started watching Peaky Blinders. I’m not sure how I feel about it just yet, Cillian Murphy’s face is distracting and not in a good way.

Monday 6th
300g Grapes
Coke Zero 300ml
Chicken Curry w/ Chips
Sprite 300ml
1 square Dairy Milk Oreo

A difficult day considering we had hardly anything in the fridge. We were in need of a shop. I ate only fruit in work, as all that was available was Piri Piri Chicken sandwiches and a questionably fatty looking soup. The weather was at peak annoyance, meaning there was no breeze to speak of and 23 degrees outside (which might not sound hot but I live in the North West of England). I was furious.

fg61nsj.gif

Tuesday 7th
60g Gluten Free Cornflakes
1 cup of Cream of Cauliflower Soup
1/3 thin white Baguette
100g homemade Oven Chips
Homemade Beef and Mushroom Stew
4 squares Dairy Milk Oreo

The weather is not changing: this is not a drill, people! In other news, Tuesday was easier to bear than expected. I was hungry all day but it didn’t bother me as much because I knew I had nice food coming. I was in a strop for the last two hours of my shift knowing that I had to make the nice food myself, but whatever.

End of Week One
Weight:
198.5lbs
I can truthfully say it’s not been easy. I found that if I’m cooking for myself, its much simpler than when other people are thrown into the mix. This is basically because I can add in all the veg I like, in place of carbs, to make the meal a little lighter and don’t have to worry about fussy eaters. But I’m really missing the huge amount of salt I was obviously ingesting. I’ve not added much when cooking and now I feel a little withdrawal-ish. I managed to lose 3.5lbs, which is not bad for the first week. I just hope I can keep it up for the remainder of the month.

Leave a Reply

