Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Matte-Lip 3D Sculpture and Colour Liptstick

June is a tough month for my bank balance. I have a couple of birthdays and its summer so I don’t like to stay indoors every minute of the day. Provided it’s not too warm, which, for the second year in a row, its excruciatingly hot in England, of all places. For a pale-skinned former ginger, its hell on earth.

So, when my go to MUA Lipstick in Wild Berry literally melted after being left on my dresser while I was at work, I wanted to replace it with something of a better quality without having to splash the cash. As luck would have it, Soap and Glory were having a Buy One Get One Half Price on everything including their Sexy Mother Pucker lipsticks, which I had been lusting after for a while. I bought my mum one of their Birthday Washes set as a side-gift for her birthday (this was posted afterwards so no spoilers!) and decided to treat myself to one of their 3D Sculpture and Colour Lipsticks, priced at only £3.50, or £1.75 after the offer was applied. After careful deliberation, I decided on the shade Berry Much.

I am loving berry tones right now and whilst it’s on the purple side it’s not too dark for both day or nightwear. Which was exactly what I was looking for. Also, cat mug matches the diary from What’s In My Bag. Look how perfect the unused lipstick is. Don’t you just adore a brand new lippie?

I swatched and it looked definitely more violet than when I was wearing it. The colour is lovely and the product went on really quickly and easily. My lips are really uneven and sometimes dark colours make me look a little strange but I thought I complimented me quite well. Please excuse the lack of make up, it was a Sunday and I really couldn’t be bothered with anything else.

After a very slick and fast application, I noticed that it didn’t feel like a Matte Lipstick. In fact, it took about 20 minutes for the colour to settle and when it did my lips felt dry but it wiped off very easily onto the back of my hand and the mug I was drinking from. Finding it all over everything, I decided to check in the mirror and it had bled slightly. After less than half an hour, this didn’t fill me with confidence.

20160605_165006

However, this is nothing that I can’t counteract with a little bit of lipliner so I didn’t let me put it off. The lipstick stayed put for a while longer, perhaps 2 hours before I could see my natural lip colour peeking through. I decided to take it off at this point and using a standard baby wipe, it swiped off straight away. Considering how hydrating it felt during application, my lips were seriously dry and I had to locate my lipbalm or risk the dreaded chapped lips.

20160605_165658

Despite the fact it doesn’t last very long, I’m in love with the colour and how easy the application is. The price doesn’t hurt either. So I think I’ll be stocking up on this on payday!

The other colours in the range are Choccoberry (mid-berry brown), Ember Red (bright, firey red), Fire Cracker (orangey-red), Pretty Muted (nude pink/lilac) and Whoah Pink (muted bubblegum). Soap and Glory is available on their own website, Soap and Glory.com and in Boots, online and in store.

2 responses to “Soap and Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Matte-Lip 3D Sculpture and Colour Liptstick

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Make Up Challenge: Days 10 & 11 | Reviews à La Mode·

  2. Pingback: Mini Superdrug Haul | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

