Grav3yard Girl Swamp Queen Palette

A few years ago a friend introduced me to Youtube’s grav3yardgirl, Bunny Meyers, and ever since then I’ve been a huge fan. She’s hilarious, honest and not afraid to take poke fun at herself. Not to mention her make up is flawless and she dresses the way that 17-year-old me desperately wanted to pull off, but sadly never could.

tumblr_njys2pdf9W1tewr6uo1_500.gif

When it was announced that Bunny was doing a collaboration with Tarte Cosmetics, I was truly excited. Especially on watching the First Look video, introducing the Swamp Queen Palette and two gorgeous matte lipsticks in shades Texas Toast (nude) and Swamp Family (bright red). Unfortunately, these are all now sold out online at Tarte, Sephora and Ulta as the products were limited edition.

However, Queen Sabre, resolver of makeup dilemmas, managed to snag me one of the Swamp Family palettes. I am forever in her debt.

57951c1312dda064798138

JUST LOOK AT HOW GORGEOUS IT IS

20160728_113546

The palette itself is a little smaller than I expected but it fit perfectly in my makeup bag, which will be great when travelling, or just for touch ups throughout the day. Whilst it has a wood effect, it’s all plastic with a magnet on the lid to close. It seems pretty sturdy, like it would survive the day being carried around in a bag.

20160728_114455

This entire thing smells like chocolate. It reminds me of those cheap chocolate footballs wrapped in foil you could get in every supermarket as a kid. I kind of want to eat it, just to see if it does taste* like them. Better not though.

*I actually tasted it. It does not taste like chocolate. I repeat: Does Not Taste Like Chocolate.

20160728_113634

In the column on the left we have Sweet Tea Bronzer, Does This Thing Really Work? Blusher and Gator Wings Highlighter.

20160728_113801

The Eyeshadows
Top Row: #SFS, Natural Peaches and Dogman
Middle Row: Big Baby, Sassy Bun and Sippy Sippy
Bottom Row: Haunting, Uncommon and Mancat

20160728_113756

Immediately, I fell in love with the eyeshadows. They are soft, highly pigmented and easy to blend. The brush included is also pretty useful. Normally you get a crappy one that doesn’t do a thing, but I was impressed with the quality of this one. I used it on my lower lash line and it was moderately soft whilst still being firm enough to actually blend. That being said, it’s still par for the course considering the price (45USD).

20160728_114241

Top to bottom: Gator Wings, Does This Thing Really Work?, Sweet Tea, #SFS, Big Baby, Haunting, Natural Peaches, Sassy Bun, Uncommon, Dogman, Sippy Sippy and Mancat.

My first ever look from this palette was a simple one. I was looking for something that was wearable to work and wasn’t outside of my usual day time neutral-friendly comfort zone. Please excuse the miserable face. The lighting in my house is the worst and it took an eternity to get a good photo.

20160728_121458

NO FILTER!

I have never been more proud of my face. I credit the Spectrum Stippling Brush from my new set. I’ve never had such good coverage whilst still looking natural. No creasing around the eyes and no concealer. In hindsight, I could have done with a bit under my eyes.

I used #SFS on the entire lid, Haunting in the crease and lower lashline and Big Baby up to the brow bone, with a little Gator Wings to highlight my cheekbones, cupid’s bow and length of my nose. Unfortunately I didn’t put enough on for my camera to pick it up.

The rest of my makeup: Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in Vanilla Clair, Bourjois Push Up Glamour Mascara in Ultra Black, MUA Eyebrow Pencil in Blonde, Rimmel Translucent Powder, No7 Bronzer in Rose Glow and LA Girl Matte Lipstick in Snuggles.

The colours blend easily and work well together. I love how unique the shades are to the palette (and that they’re named after catchphrases). I especially adore Uncommon. The glitter isn’t too dramatic either, which is always nice. My only small complaint is the fallout from Gator Wings. I used a fan brush, which was a mistake, next time I’ll use a fluffy shadow brush. Shimmer got on EVERYTHING. Luckily, I’d had the foresight to put a little excess powder on my cheeks and could swipe it all off with a clean powder brush.

Left: caught in the work’s toilets taking a selfie. Right: home and about to take my make up off after 10 hours. You can clearly see that all the joy has left my body.

This was without any sort of primer (except a litle moisturiser) or setting spray. My base, lips and brows pretty much gone by the time I got home but my eyeshadow was still going strong. The colour had faded a little but I expected this to happen. It came off easily with a baby wipe and didn’t affect my sensitive eyes one bit during the day.

Overall, I am so impressed with this palette. I can’t wait to try out the blush, bronzer and other eyeshadow shades. If you’re looking for something that’s not too out there, with fairly neutral shades and can be easily toted around in a handbag, then I 100% recommend it.

9 responses to “Grav3yard Girl Swamp Queen Palette

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Make Up Challenge: Day 2 | Reviews à La Mode·

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Make Up Challenge: Days 4 & 5 | Reviews à La Mode·

  3. Pingback: August Favourites and Regrets | Reviews à La Mode·

  4. Pingback: 30 Day Make Up Challenge: Days 10 & 11 | Reviews à La Mode·

  5. Pingback: 30 Day Make Up Challenge: Days 12 to 15 | Reviews à La Mode·

  6. Pingback: My Makeup Collection | Reviews à La Mode·

  7. Pingback: Barry M That’s How I Roll Mascara | Reviews à La Mode·

  8. Pingback: Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution | Reviews à La Mode·

Leave a Reply

