Badger Balm Mini Sleep Balm

As I’ve mentioned before, I am not the best at getting a full night’s sleep. I struggle to fall asleep and once I manage that, keeping my eyes closed is a task akin to lion taming. In that, as much as you want the lion to cooperate, it resists and takes a lot of work to make it do what you want. Thanks, Brain.

Earlier this year I found, and fell in love with, Lush’s Dreamtime Temple Balm. It’s an absolute godsend, but I’m always searching for products that aid bed time. Recently, in a Pink Parcel pack, I received Badger Balm’s Mini Sleep Balm and couldn’t wait to try it out.

20160820_194015.jpg

Badger Balm products are available on feelunique.com and prices start from £4.99, which is how much this 21g tin costs, and range up to £16.99. The brand is produced in the USA, USDA approved organic and as well as temple balms they make lip balms, skin products and hair products.

The first thing I noticed about this was that you get a pretty large tin for the price. Considering its only 21g, its huge. For comparison, I’ve placed it side by side with Lush’s 10g Dreamtime Temple Balm, which retails at £6.00.

20160820_191533

As you can see, you definitely get your money’s worth!

Badger Balm Sleep Balm doesn’t make you sleepy: the sophisticated blend of essential oils helps quiet your thoughts and clear your mind, then you fall asleep naturally. Rosemary is the traditional herb for clear thinking, confidence, and memory. Bergamot is mentally uplifting, and Ginger is strengthening and confidence-inducing. Balsam Fir is refreshing, like a walk in the woods, while Lavender is the traditional sleep herb: fresh and relaxing. This balm is perfect for those nights when you can’t seem to stop the mind chatter!
– FeelUnique

My first impression of the ingredients was that it was quite similar to Dreamtime, but then I realised that all the things that make you sleepy are well-known and used in a million other things. I’ve been loving lavender lately, and its very prominent, which I liked about the scent. It is also very similar to Dreamtime but the ginger gives it a slightly spicy kick, giving it an edge on other balms. I much prefer it to all the others I’ve tried.

IMG_20160820_191618

The product itself looks like Vaseline, but with a greenish tinge to it. Mine came with a big “crack” in the middle that I smoothed over when I started using it. It looks like the balm oils slightly separated – probably due to changes in weather and air pressure. This summer’s weather has been incredibly strange and some of my cosmetics have done the same thing (R.I.P. M&S foundation, MUA lipstick and all of my nail polishes). Aesthetically, it was a little disappointing to see but it changes literally nothing about the function and usage.

Like I’ve done with other sleep balms, I smeared a little on my temples and my philtrum a few minutes before going to bed. The scent itself is calming and soothing, I did feel much more relaxed after application. As the product description says, it doesn’t actually make you fall asleep but gives you the ability to do so on your own. Which seems like a bit of a cop-out on paper (on-screen?), yet it really does work. After only a couple of minutes of tossing and turning, I fell into a deep sleep that lasted for 8 uninterrupted hours. I woke the next morning feeling a tad disoriented, which is always the sign of a good sleep, but I did still feel tired.

Since then, I’ve used the balm every night I was wide awake after a shower or bath, and found that it’s helped to ease me off to sleep. A small dab works wonders, ensuring I fall asleep when I’m in dire need.

However, my neighbours decided to go on holiday for three weeks and leave their kid’s alarm clock plugged in, set for 4am every.single.night. So, I can’t attest to more than 2 weeks worth of undisturbed kip. That aside, this product does what it says it will, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a way to switch off or even just to relax.

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_259_7AB7DF402D8B3684080DC256F3BD8AC5

One response to “Badger Balm Mini Sleep Balm

Leave a Reply

