30 Day Make Up Challenge: Day 2

Day 2: Everyday Make Up

I don’t wear make up often day-to-day, I much prefer to leave it for special occasions or when I need a confidence boost. My go-to everyday look is very simple: neutral eyes and a nude lip. I don’t bother with touch ups and primers and all, just for going to work, or nipping the shops. Too much effort.

This is the finished look.

20160902_121747.jpg

Products used
Spectrum Make Up Brushes
Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in Light Vanilla 51
Bourjois Healthy Mix Concealer in Eclat Clair 51
Bourjois Little Round Pot Blusher in Healthy MixRimmel Clear Complexion Transparent Powder
Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen Palette Eyedshadows: Big Baby, #SFS and Haunting
MUA Eyebrow Pencil in Blonde
Rimmel Extra Superlash Mascara in Brown Black
L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Exclusive Lipstick in Julianne’s Nude

I started out with the base. I always use one pump of the Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation. It’s a little more than I need as its very blendable and affords a fair bit of light coverage (I’m not a fan of full coverage foundations), but I like to have extra if I need it. I dab on and blend with a stippling brush, I prefer using this type of brush as it doesn’t leave any tell-tale blending marks and I don’t need to use much product.

before20160724_095514foundation

After foundation, was concealer. I like to use the same line of concelaer as foundation. I’m not sure why, it just makes me feel a bit more put together. If I’m honest, I don’t really like the concealer. It’s a little too orange for me, despite the fact that the matching foundation is more pink toned. A slight annoyance, but I’m giving it a fair go. I blend this in with the same stippling brush.

concealer20160902_114714

Once my liquid base is done, I move on to powders. First is blush, the Bourjois Little Round Pot in Healthy Mix which is a natural looking rose tone. It was by sheer coincidence that I picked a blush with the same name as the foundation and concealer. I fell in the love with the colour instantly. Kismet! I apply it using a contour brush so that its light and subtle. I’ve found that using other brushes makes me look a bit stripey. Atop of that, I applied some of the Rimmel Clear Complexion Transparent Powder with a big fluffy brush to set and prevent the oil from coming through for at least a couple of hours.

20160902_11473320160902_11475120160902_11513220160902_115111

I then applied the MUA Eyebrow Pencil. Its £1 and the cheapest makeup product I own. I’ve tried other brow pencils and they’ve either been too light, too dark or too red. This is perfect for my mid-auburn eyebrows. It comes with a little brush on one end that’s perfect to comb my four eyebrow hairs into place. I overplucked when I was 15 and they’ve NEVER grown back properly. I’m forever stuck with wonky eyebrows. Let that be a lesson for any overpluckers out there!

20160902_115503.jpg

Next on my agenda was my favourite part of makeup application: eyeshadow. I’ve been adoring my Grav3yardgirl palette for the last few months, in particular the shades Big Baby #SFS and Haunting. I applied Big Baby as the base, up to the brow bone. As I have small, hooded eyes, it gives them a big of depth and makes them look a little bigger in the long run.

20160902_115800

Big Baby

20160902_115952

Haunting

20160902_120051

#SFS in crease and blended out

20160902_120136

Haunting on outer corners of lower lashline

Only two steps left. The second to last is the one I hate the most: Mascara. I always smudge it and have to clean up blobs of mascara from my eye lid. Or I sneeze mid application and have to start all over again. Luckily, this time there was minimal mess. I bought the Rimmel Extra Superlash after I’d had enough of my previous Bourjois mascaras. Its easy apply, the brush is small and without too many bristles – just how I like it – and I have a feeling it will be easy to remove.

20160902_12032120160902_120547

Lastily, lipstick. I picked up the L’Oreal Colour Riche in Julianne’s Nude as it looked like it had a peachier tone in the shop. By the time I got it home, I realised it was definitely pink. I’m not really too keen on the formula as it’s a satin finish (which it also did not seem to be in the shop) and doesn’t last very long, maybe an hour. But its good for day-to-day wear.

20160801_12272320160801_12273820160801_122752

20160902_121747

I’m really happy with the final look. I feel like its wearable to work, for hanging out on a normal day and it could even be tszujed up with a darker lipstick and a little eyeliner.

Leave a Reply

