Collection Velvet Kiss Moisturising Lip Creams (Nyx Lingerie dupe)

Recently, I’ve been inspired by Youtubers, such as sophdoesnails, to try out makeup products on the cheaper end of the spectrum. I will admit, I’ve always turned my nose up at brands like Seventeen, Miss Sporty and Natural Collection, but lately, they’ve been producing some brilliant make up items.

I’ve always shopped somewhere in the middle of cheap and high-end, never daring to cross the £10 per item threshold unless I had a gift card. But, now I need to watch my money more carefully, I’ve got the chance to try out some of the lower priced brands.

A few weeks ago I culled my makeup collection. Anything over a year old, that was drying up or I hadn’t used in three months went in the bin. It left me with hardly any lip products and I was feeling a little bit deprived. The boyfriend had a good win at the bookies and gave me some spending money, so I decided to treat myself to some liquid lipsticks and a few other bits and pieces. Originally, I was looking for the Collection Cream Puff Lip Creams, but they were ALWAYS out of stock in the two shops you can actually buy them (Boots and Superdrug). Then, I stumbled across the Collection Velvet Kiss Moisturising Lip Creams at only £2.99 each.

There are six colours in the range: Blackberry (deep purple), Caramel (brown nude), Cotton (dusky rose), Mango (orange/red), Mulberry (purple/burgundy) and Rosie (vibrant red). Whilst it’s not extensive, it has the basics of most shades.

I originally went for Blackberry as I was after a similar shade to KourtK, without the terrible formula.

Admittedly, I thought Blackberry was going to be a lot darker than it is, but it’s still gorgeous. I love purple lipsticks and this little gem fit the bill. Of course, as soon as I saw the price, I snagged myself Caramel and Cotton as well.

received_10211239835416778

Top to bottom: Cotton, Blackberry and Caramel

Cotton is definitely a lot more pink than I anticipated. I was expecting more of a dusky colour. It’s pretty bright. But that doesn’t mean I won’t like it once it’s on my face. As soon as I swatched Caramel, I fell in love with it. It’s a soft brown nude and I’ve been trying to find just the right one for a while. I’ve yet to wear it as I have a cold sore and don’t want to contaminate my makeup, but I have high hopes!

20161021_153032.jpg

The consistency is very thick, almost like they literally melted down a lipstick, but I like it. It means that I won’t go overboard and I’ve a feeling it’ll be very buildable. When swatching, I could apply a few layers without it streaking.

After looking back at photos, I realised that Caramel is a brilliant dupe of Nyx Lingerie in Bedtime Flirt, which I bought at the same time. Slightly disappointed in myself for not noticing, but I now have two lovely versions to try 🙂

20161021_153801.jpgTop: Caramel
Bottom: Bedtime Flirt

Bedtime Flirt has a slightly more pinkish tone, but if you’re budgeting and after a very similar colour, you can’t go wrong. The Nyx one dries quickly and slightly lighter, but is still a very good match.

The only thing that I don’t like is that all of the shades take forever to dry. I swatched my wrist and after 15 minutes, it was still tacky and rubbed off on everything. However, I wouldn’t mind this too much in a lipstick as I’m not constantly touching my mouth. It’s something that I would probably wear day-to-day, maybe if I’m popping out to see a friend, or even to work. The formula definitely doesn’t have the staying power of the Kylie Lip Kits, or Jeffree Star Liquid Lipsticks.

But, for £2.99 its an absolute bargain.

logo

2 responses to “Collection Velvet Kiss Moisturising Lip Creams (Nyx Lingerie dupe)

Leave a Reply

