Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask

My skin has been feeling a little drab lately. I don’t know whether it’s the change of seasons, my skin care routine or just one of those things. Either way, I felt like it was in need of a little TLC. I recently ordered a few budget buys from Boots and the Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask popped up as a recommended product for only 99p. It seemed like fate.

When I picked up my order from the shop, I eagerly ripped open the box to find that the packet is absolutely huge. I’ve never had a face mask packet bigger than the standard A5, but this is double that.

20161025_201523

For the price, I didn’t exactly have high hopes. Cheap skin care has always been better for me than the expensive stuff, but that doesn’t mean it will be any good. I’d never used a sheet mask before and honestly, was beginning to regret buying it when I realised just how much moisture was going to be deposited into my already oily/combination skin. But my cheeks and chin were in dire need of revitalisation, so I persevered.

The instructions advised to apply the mask to a thoroughly cleansed face, leave on for 15 minutes and then gently massage any remaining serum into the skin.

Putting on the mask proved to be the most difficult thing. First of all, I put it on back to front and sat there for 5 minutes until I realised the reason it kept slipping off was because I’d applied the removable side. Stupid. So I swapped it over, peeled off the removable side and adjusted the mask as best I could to my face. The eye holes and mouth hole were way too small so I had to pull the mask apart a bit to stop serum from getting in my eyes. The nose part also wouldn’t stay put and kept flopping off my face. I don’t know why.

Then, I made the mistake of looking in the mirror.

100% Leatherface

I don’t know what went wrong with the mask application at all.

I left it on for the required amount of time, give or take, and put up with the fabric constantly trying to slide off my face. It tingled a bit, but didn’t sting and I had no bad reactions, unlike other face masks. When I peeled it off there was so much excess serum that there was no possible way my skin was ever going to absorb it all, so I removed most of it with a cotton pad. I rubbed the tiny bit left into my skin and honestly, my face felt pretty nice.

My skin was really hydrated and moisturised but still felt a little bit tight on the apples of my cheeks. The exact place that needed the hydration. I didn’t put any more moisturiser on as there was so much serum in the mask and when I woke up the next morning, my skin was oilier than its ever been in my life. And that includes after camping at Download Festival for a week without access to running water.

Despite the wringing wet face, my skin does look more radiant and my blemishes have drastically reduced in redness and size. I can see that if I got used to the application, it could become a product I would use regularly.

But, am I going to buy it again?

Probably not. It’s too much of a hassle compared to mud masks, or even peel-off masks. I’ll stick what I know for now.

logo

 

One response to “Garnier Moisture Bomb Tissue Mask

Leave a Reply

