Maybelline Classic Volum’ Express Mascara

I used Max Factor 2000 Calorie mascara for about 2 years, but a few months ago I realised it just wasn’t doing anything for me anymore. I wasn’t getting the volume, the length or the staying powder that I used to achieve. Whether they’ve changed the formula, or I’ve just outgrown the product I’m not sure. Either way, I was done. I tried a few others by Rimmel, Natural Collection and several Bourjois disasters, but never really found what I was looking for.

To be clear, when it comes to mascaras, I know what I want for the day-to-day stuff.

It has to be brown/black, provide natural looking length whilst still having volume, without being clumpy whatsoever, and be easy to remove. At the same time, I’m not willing to fork out a tonne of cash.

I’m difficult to please when it comes to lash products.

After what felt like an eternity of searching online, I settled on Maybelline Classic Volum’ Express Mascara in the shade Dark Brown, for £4.99. Most mascaras say brown, but they mean a slightly less black, black. Which I’m happy with, as jet black is too harsh for my skin tone. I’m very pale, with cool skin and reddish hair. I want to look natural(ish) for everyday.

mascara-1

When the mascara was delivered, I waited a few days before opening it as I still had a little bit of Rimmel Extra Super Lash left. When I did, I found that it was not dark brown. It was quite a light brown. You can’t tell on the photo just how light it is. And it worried me. I didn’t want to end up with light brown lashes.

mascara-2

And so, I put off using it for a few more days until I was going to work and was sick of having no makeup on in the mornings. This was after some rude person asked me why I never wore any. Excuse me, you try putting on a face of make up at 5.30 in the morning. I didn’t want to deal with their comments and slapped on concealer, powder, brows and this mascara before stepping out of the door.

I forgot to take photos because, you know, 5.30am.

But I was pleasantly surprised at the shade. It wasn’t too light at all, it matched my natural lash colour and made them look long, and a little voluminous. I wasn’t expecting a lot for the price, but this went on like a dream. It didn’t clump and my lashes were incredibly easy to separate.

However, I have a physical job and I chose to wear this make up on a product delivery day – the busiest of all the days. By the time I got home after a short 4 1/2 hour shift, my mascara had smudged under my right eye and all but disappeared from the left. I had been expecting that, because I would be sweaty and constantly running around, so I didn’t mind too much at all.

I didn’t let it put me off, and tried again.

1st-coat1st-coat-2

This was a few days later. As you can see, my right eye is seriously red at the moment from a combination of dry eye and a bad reaction to some eyeliner. Also, my eyebrows need something doing to them asap.

This was one coat of mascara. It looks so natural and yet defined. I think the brown makes my eye colour pop, it definitely suits me better than full on black.

2nd-coat2nd-coat-2

I applied another thin coat and found it gave me a lot more volume, but still seemed quite natural. It made my lashes look much longer than they are, which was a nice benefit. I don’t like much mascara on my bottom lashes, so this was a bit messy but the right amount of product.

Whilst it’s the perfect colour and formula for me, the mascara is messy. I cleaned it up for photos but I managed to get it on my eyelids and beneath my eyebrow, which I rarely ever do. The first layer flaked off a bit, but once that was cleaned up it stayed put.

The staying power also isn’t amazing.

I put the above mascara on about 2pm. The boyfriend and I nipped to Tesco, came home, watched an episode of Westworld and by 4.30, it had lost a lot of definition. It just looked I’d put on a bit of clear mascara. Which was disappointing but not the end of the world as I hadn’t put any effort at all into my makeup.

I’d been up since 6am, as the boyfriend woke me up when he came home from work and I couldn’t get back to sleep, and was shattered so I took a quick nap at around 6pm. I’ve not been sleeping very well lately. I think it’s a combination in the change of shifts (I’m on a flexi rota whereas I’d always had set shifts in previous jobs) and the weather fluctuating, on the daily. The nap was only half an hour long and when I woke up, it was all gone.

20161026_20162420161026_201627

I’m not going to lie, I’m terrible for taking off mascara so I’ve gone to bed many a time with it on and even after a full night’s sleep, it’s never worn off quite this much. What’s left is smudged under my eyes (but I was alseep, so).

The remaining came off very easily with some micellar water and a cotton pad, which I liked. I can’t stand stubborn makeup.

I’m pretty pleased with this mascara. It’s not the kind you can wear if you’re expecting to do anything remotely physical, but its a good natural-looking product for everyday things. I’ll probably wear it for popping down to the shops or going to see a friend, but I won’t be wearing it to work again.

logo

Leave a Reply

