Zoeva Cocoa Blend Palette

If you read my Beauty Wishlist from a few weeks ago, you’ll know that the number one item I’ve been obsessing over is the Zoeva Cocoa Blend Palette. I’m all about chocolate browns and golds at the moment, it just seemed to tick all the right boxes. I got some cash for my birthday so I thought I’d actually treat myself to it.

I ordered this palette from Beauty Bay but you can also buy Zoeva products from Selfridges. I’ve shopped with them before, but never for myself. The delivery was free if I spent over £15.00, as the palette was £18.00 it was a nice little extra. I don’t know about anyone else, but I always begrudge paying delivery fees. I usually order to collect, wherever I can. Unfortunately, my small town doesn’t have anything good in it (let’s face it, we don’t even have a Superdrug anymore) so most things have to be delivered.

The order was delivered by Hermes within 24 hours, which was amazingly fast considering it was free. After seeing so many reviews and just generally oggling it online, I was so excited to start swatching that I almost forgot to take photos. I hate when you see smudge marks from swatching on palettes in my blog pictures!

The palette is embossed with a gorgeous geometric pattern and comes in a matching sleeve which was such a pain to remove. There’s no mirror, which for some people is a big deal, but I couldn’t care less. I own mirrors.

img_20161118_130506img_20161118_130618

Look how pretty!

12345

img_20161118_130832

Top to bottom: Bitter Start, Sweeter End, Warm Notes, Subtle Blend, Beans Are White, Pure Ganache, Substitute For Love, Freshly Toasted, Infusion and Delicate Acidity.

I was pleasantly surprised with the pigmentation of some of the colours, but others seemed a little lacking. As you can tell, Bitter Start is so soft and sheer that you can’t see it on my white af wrist. Infusion took a few layers to get a dark colour, as did Beans Are White. I don’t mind too much about that, because they do have a lot of pay off once you start working with them.

I’m also not really a fan of the glitter in Infusion. Obviously I knew it was going to be glitter, but it seems chunky and even when swatching there was a fair bit of fall out. I don’t use very dark colours often so, it’s not that much of an issue.

Immediately, I fell in love with Delicate Acidity. Its much darker than it looks in the pan, more of a plum than a violet. Pure Ganache is just beautiful, as is Warm Notes – which actually surprised me, I thought it would be one the colour I’d get no use out of as I’ve never been a fan of pinks.

The shadows themselves are velvety soft and seemed to blend well with my fingers, when I smudged them out after taking the photos. I tried to remove them with a face wipe and nope, they just dirtied up my arm. I had to get out the makeup remover. This gives me hope that they’ll last all day even without primer (as I never wear it).

I tried a a quick and simple look, using Sweeter End as my transition shade and inner corner, Freshly Toasted for the outer corner and lower lashline and Subtle Blend across the lid. The shadows blend so gently and easily. On the lid they are incredibly pigmented, even with the tiniest dab of product.

20161120_14034020161120_140349

My eyebrows were not cooperating at all, also just noticed how patchy my foundation was around the hairline, omfg. If anyone wants to know, the lip colour is NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Rome.

The photos don’t do the colours justice, the overall effect looked really quite dark in person. I was really pleased with this look.

This palette is full of stunning colours, it’s reasonably priced and of an excellent quality. If the eyeshadows hold up well, I can see myself picking up another palette or two from Zoeva in the future!

logo

Leave a Reply

