Soap and Glory Archery 2 in 1 Brow Sculpting Crayon and Setting Gel

My brow game is weak, at best. I’m the first to admit it. I don’t really know what I’m doing. I’m colouring them in and hoping for a miracle. After much deliberation, I decided that I needed to actually do something about how sparse and sad-looking they are. Unfortunately, you can’t make your brows grow after faster than they naturally do (or don’t, in my case) so I settled for finding a cosmetic solution.

Soap and Glory’s Archery 2 in 1 Brow Sculpting Crayon and Setting Gel

20161130_19152920161130_19155520161130_19154120161130_191659

Originally, I went into Boots for the Brow Filling 2 in 1 Pencil and Brush, but they only had the lightest shade in stock and I was feeling impatient. I turned to this little baby, swatched the three shades in store and decided that Blondie was too light whilst Hot Chocolate was too dark, so Brownie Points must be the right one. Luckily for me, I was right on this rare occasion.

I decided to test it out for the first time on a day when I would be out and about, exposed to the weather, as well as indoors with central heating and such.

Freshly applied
My brows aren’t exactly expertly sculpted. I did what I could. I thought they looked pretty natural and okay, I guess.

20161201_112836Lipstick: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Transylvania

After 2 Hours
I caught the train to Liverpool and walked to a friend’s house in high winds and a little rain. The brows looked better in natural light and seemed to fare really well against the elements. Shame the same couldn’t be said for my hair. Also, why is my face so orange?

20161201_125701Lipstick: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Transylvania

After 8 Hours
A little smudged, but I probably did this to myself. I have no awareness when it comes to my brows. I was happy with the longevity, the setting gel definitely worked its magic. My foundation was also holding up. Well done, Bourjois.

20161201_150507Lipstick: Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution in Love Liberty

On one end you get a twistable brow crayon, and on the other is a setting gel with a spoolie brush. The twist on the crayon end is VERY flimsy and the first time I used it, I gripped too low and ended up wobbling it back into the tube. The second time, I held it just above that part and it worked fine but I found that I didn’t have as much control as I would have liked.

The actual colour itself is perfect for my brows. It’s not too dark and fairly neutral toned so that it matches both my hair colour and brow colour – which are different, weirdly enough. The crayon is angled slightly, meaning you have to hold the device in different positions to get the shape you need. Which is great if you know what you’re doing. It’s been a bit of a learning curve for me, let me tell you that. I’m used to a pencil that has seen better days.

The setting gel and spoolie are my favourite thing about this product. The gel is a medium consistency that doesn’t leave your brows feeling crispy, just a bit firm where you’ve brushed them into place. It lasts literally all day and doesn’t look like you’ve mascared your brows – which I was worried about. The spoolie itself is brilliant for getting your brows into any direction you want and it doesn’t gunk up with product.

I still don’t know how I feel about this product. I like elements of it, but I’m still trying to work out the kinks of using it. I’m not particularly skilled at the art of makeup, so I’ll carry on and see how it goes.

logo

Leave a Reply

