Finally, 2016 Is Over!

I think the world can agree that the majority of 2016 was a bit of a shit show. No one was anticipating such a dumpster fire of a year.

ezgif.com-5f6709e99f.gif

Honestly, after the horror that was 2015, I was expecting things to be a little bit better.  The boyfriend had serious health concerns, I had awful job issues and swapped careers so money has been tight ever since then, I acquired a bit of a stalker, and the bestie underwent major surgery. Along the way, we also lost a lot of iconic celebrities such as David Bowie, Alan Rickman and Anton Yelchin (which I’m still not over).

There were some good points though, its hasn’t been 100% dismal.

The boyfriend got the all clear, which was a MASSIVE weight off our shoulders, you can read more about that here. The bestie is getting better every day. I got out of a toxic work place (more here), I actually LIKE my new job and I’ve already been discussing a potential promotion with my managers, after less than 3 months of working there. Everyone I love is healthy and happy and that’s what really matters.

I’ve learned that being an adult means that not everything will go your way all the time. In fact it can be down right shitty, but it’s how you deal with it that makes or breaks it. I’m a silver-linings kind of girl, so I don’t let things get me down for long anyway, but the last 18 months have been depressingly difficult. I was struggling to see how it could get better. But it did and I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time.

Onwards into the new year we go.

I’ve never made resolutions, because I believe that if you really want to make changes, you don’t need a new year to implement them. However, I’ve already been making headway on some of my goals that I set throughout the last few months and going into 2017, I have a small(ish) list of things that I want to achieve:

  1. To be happy and healthy
  2. Spend more time with family and friends
  3. Make headway with my job and get that promotion
  4. Take a mini break somewhere in Europe
  5. Pay off a wedge of our debt
  6. Decide on a wedding date and start saving
  7. Learn.How.To.Cat.Eye
  8. Hit my goal weight and tone up
  9. Pick a new blog name and buy a domain name
  10. Get organised

I don’t think that any of these are too much to ask.

Here’s to 2017, because it can’t be any worse than 2016…right?

xUg5gER.jpg

logo

2 responses to “Finally, 2016 Is Over!

Leave a Reply

