Superdrug Haul

I’d been making a list of makeup items that I was either running low on or loved the look of and with a bit of my Christmas money, I thought I would treat myself. In need of a new foundation, mascara and blusher, I headed over to the Superdrug website.

img_20170104_151801_860

I’ve been holding onto my Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation for a while and it’s okay, I guess, but it’s not a great match. I needed a foundation with pink undertones that was for the very pale people and after a LOT of research (including actually going to Boots – shudder – and swatching various brands), I decided on the L’Oreal True Match Foundation in the shade 1C Rose Ivory. This costs £9.99, but if you’re a Beauty Card holder there is a £2 discount on certain products right now.

20170104_15251820170104_15260620170104_15255820170104_152622

Judging from the shade of the product, and the fact that it’s barely noticeable once blended in on my wrist, I’m sure this is going to be a great match for me. It’s the lightest cool tone of the range. I really like that they offer cool and warm toned foundations as when you’re pale, it’s even harder to find a perfect match. I’ve never had a L’Oreal foundation before so I’m excited to give it a try.

On the Superdrug website, they had a 3 for 2 offer on L’Oreal products and if you bought 3 items you got a free mascara. Which obviously swayed the rest of my purchases…

The next thing I chose from the 3 for 2 offer, was the L’Oreal True Match Powder Illuminator in Icy Glow. Costing £7.99, it’s not too pricey. I first came across this product when watching an Emily Canham High End vs Drug Store video on Youtube. She raved about it so much, and the payoff seemed amazing for the price. I was not disappointed.

20170104_15265520170104_15272520170104_15273420170104_152812

I loved that you get a mirror and brush included – not that I will ever probably use the brush – as its so convenient when travelling. I swatched all three colours and unfortunately, the blue did not offer a blue toned highlight, but the pigmentation is incredible. The product itself is a little bit on the glittery side, but has no fall out.

My third choice was a little bit more difficult. Superdrug is one of those places that offers a fair choice of products, but most of the time half of them will be out of stock. I struggled a bit finding something that I really wanted that was actually available. Then I came across the Infallible Matte Max Lipsticks. I chose the shade Like A Virgin, hoping for an everyday colour that wasn’t a caramel toned nude. For only £6.99, my hopes weren’t sky-high.

20170104_15235220170104_15235720170104_15240920170104_152425

The colour is definitely a lot more vibrant that I had been expecting but I really like it. I’m not sure if I’ll suit it just yet, but I have high hopes. I was surprised at the applicator (probably should have looked that up at some point), as it’s not your traditional lipstick doe foot. It reminds me of Crayola felts from the 90s. It’s interesting, no doubt.

The free mascara with my purchase is actually amazing. It’s not often that free gifts are any good, so it was a massive surprise to get such a nice product. I love a good mascara and the Volume Million Lashes in Extra Black looks like it will be brilliant. Usually, this costs £9.99, so I’ve already saved the best part of a tenner.

20170104_15300720170104_153032

The packaging is to die for but I’m not 100% sure about the wand. I struggle with the fat wands, and the too skinny wands so its hard to find one that I will like. But I can only give it a go.

I’ve been using the Bourjois Little Round Pot Blusher in Healthy Mix for a few months and it was only a few weeks ago that I realised that I don’t actually like it. There’s no pigmentation and it takes forever to build up a layer, which sometimes goes completely cakey. So I was in the market for a new one. I came across the Makeup Revolution Blush palettes, priced at only £6, on their Instagram page a few months ago and loved the look of Blush Queen but it was literally always out of stock, so I picked Sugar and Spice, and I’m so glad I did. The irony being that Blush Queen is now back in stock.

20170104_15182020170104_15182720170104_15185920170104_15191220170104_152111

The pigmentation of these blushes is incredible. Just one swipe through the pan and I managed to get so much depth for the swatches. The two highlights are also shimmery and gorgeous, I can see the silver one becoming a favourite. The soft lilac hue is not dissimilar to Makeup Obsessesions’ Moon. The choice of colours will see me through a tonne of different looks, and could also double as eyeshadows in a pinch. I can’t wait to start using these!

Over Christmas, I had my eye on the Sleek Mini Matte Me Lipstick set for a fiver, but it was constantly out of stock online and in my local area. I really wanted to try out one of their lipsticks and came across the shade Velvet Slipper for £4.99.

20170104_15214820170104_15220620170104_152158

untitled

This rich berry with grey undertones seemed perfect to add to my collection. I’ve heard rave reviews about Sleek Matte Me lipsticks and Velvet Slipper in particular always seemed to be the one everyone wanted. I have another damn cold sore so it will be a while before I get to try this out.

The last thing I picked up from Superdrug was a B. Flat Contour Brush. I’ve been wanting one of these for a while as I’m terrible at applying contour (and even worse at blending it out), but the ones I saw always seemed to be either too pricey or out of stock.

20170104_15311020170104_153218

This brush is so soft!

Brush makers have definitely come a long way from when I was gifted my very first set as a teenager. This set me back £5.93, usually priced at £8.99 but its been on offer for a while. I like that is vegan, and pretty long-handled, so that it’ll be easier for me to use.

I’m so pleased with my little haul and I’m looking forward to using and reviewing these products over the next few weeks!

logo

Leave a Reply

