Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Concealer

In Morrisons, of all places, I stopped to check out the Maybelline stand and spotted a product I’ve never come across before; the Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer. I’d been after an illuminating concealer for a while, but never got around to finding one, and it was reduced from £6.99 to £5.00, so it seemed like I had to get it. So I selected one from the Ivory stand and went on my merry way.

It wasn’t until I got home and removed the safety seal, however, that I realised the stand had been stocked incorrectly. Oh, yes. I had made the foolish error of not checking the packaging and had managed to buy the wrong shade. Gutted wasn’t the word, when I found that I’d picked up Nude. When it comes to Maybelline, Ivory is light but not that light and Nude is for someone with a tan. I’m sure you can imagine my disappointment.

As I’d unwrapped it, I thought I might as well swatch it. I got a bit overzealous when twisting the cap and wasted so much product. I was pretty surprised to find that the shade wasn’t as dark as I’d been expecting. It was unavoidably much darker than my skin tone, but something told me that I could make it work.

20170111_140309

I added it to a makeup look, on a whim and discovered:

  1. The coverage is poor, at best. This cannot be worn as a stand-alone concealer
  2. It blends like a DREAM
  3. It gives a lovely, illuminating glow.

I was also shocked to find that it isn’t too dark for me at all; its perfect!

I used it on top of Collection Lasting Perfection in Fair, and whilst Lumi Touch didn’t add much in the way of coverage, it made my undereyes look a hell of a lot less blue. I don’t look anywhere near as shattered as I actually was in this photo and for me, it’s a win.

20170111_150707

I also popped a little bit on the bridge of my nose, my forehead and philtrum, to give my face a bit more dimension. Once it was set with a little powder from my Makeup Revolution Contour Palette, it lasted literally all day. I’m so happy with how this performed.

I’m so impressed with this concealer. Maybe next time though, I’ll actually get one in the right shade.

logo

2 responses to “Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Concealer

Leave a Reply

