O’Keeffe’s Working Hands Cream *A Miracle*

Lately, I’ve noticed that my hands have been suffering because of my job, and everyday hand cream just isn’t cutting it anymore. Sure, brands like Soap & Glory, The Body Shop and Garnier all work well if you aren’t spending most of your day in scratchy gloves, carrying radiators around, or ripping open cardboard boxes, but I’m no longer feeling the benefit. I cannot stand having dry, rough skin anymore. As someone who has always taken care of her hands, it makes me feel disgusting.

Our store had a promotion swap a while ago, and when helping my manager put the new items out, I came across O’Keeffe’s Working Hands Cream. Designed for builders and all-weather workers, this cream claims to heal dry, cracked skin and build back moisture. My hands are nowhere near that bad, but I wanted something intensive that would restore my skin to its former baby-soft glory.

20170131_122548

A 96g tub of this costs £5.38, and when I picked it up it felt so lightweight that I wondered exactly how long it would last. I go through a LOT of hand cream and didn’t want to have to shell out more in a few weeks.

The packaging is pretty plain, and obviously designed towards men, being that there are no bells and whistles. It doesn’t even have a scent, except a vague whiff of some sort of butter (maybe shea?). I love the fact that the lid has a rubber edge to it, making it easier to open and re-seal, once you’d applied the cream. This is something that always annoys me on other packaging, especially Lush’s black pots.

The packaging states that less is more (my kind of product) and its best to use before bed. I took this to mean that it may leave a residue on the skin and is better to absorb when you aren’t using your hands so much.

20170131_230932

As you can see, the cream is white but goes on clear. The consistency is really strange. I was expecting it to be similar to face cleansing oil, or coconut oil, but its more like a lightweight butter. It breaks off into your hand in chunks and flakes, then you rub it in like a normal cream. It does leave a film on your hands that takes a bit of getting use to, but it’s no worse than a regular hand cream.

As recommended, the first time I used it was at night, just before I got into bed. I applied a small amount of the cream and went to sleep. When I woke up in the morning, my hands felt soft, but no more than normal. I didn’t notice any difference, at least. I used the cream over the next three nights and on the fourth morning, I found my hands to be incredibly soft and smooth, more than they’ve ever been in my life! I’d been suffering with a lot of dry, flaky skin on my finger tips and edges of my palms – all gone!

I stopped using it for a few days, to see if my hands would go back to how they were quite quickly, but they didn’t. Obviously they weren’t as soft but nowhere close to how rough they’d felt before. Over the last two months I’ve gone through about 1/2 of the tub and honestly, its amazing. I can’t imagine using any other hand cream now.

Working Hands has definitely become a staple in my skin care routine and as well as being a generally brilliant product, its less than £6.00! I’ve paid more for hand creams that I’ve hated. O’Keeffe’s also make a foot cream for rough, dry skin called Healthy Feet and I’ll be picking some of that up in the near future!

logo

Leave a Reply

