L’Oreal Infallible Foundation

On my ever-expanding quest for a half decent foundation under £10, I came across L’Oreal Paris 24 Hour Infallible Foundation. It promised high coverage, long wear and to hide any signs of fatigue and blemishes. Straight away, I thought “Sign me up for that”. But I had just bought L’Oreal True Match and was trying to make that work for me, so I put off getting it. As you may have read earlier this year, it did not work for me at all and ended up becoming one of my least favourite foundations to date.

The boyfriend recently won an Amazon gift card and as he doesn’t shop with them, he gave it to me. It was the excuse I had been looking for. I picked it up for only £7.00 in the shade 015 Porcelain, after checking that it was, in fact, the real deal. There are so many fakes on Amazon and Ebay these days, you really have to be careful.

20170201_11512120170201_115127

Automatically, when looking for face products, I head towards the palest shades. It’s a natural reflex. I’ve spent so many years finding even the lightest of colours to be orange, I assume anything other than straight up Porcelain or Ivory will be too dark. When I opened this I had a mild panic. It’s SO pale and pink.

I thought that I had pink undertones until I saw this bottle. And maybe I do, but the L’Oreal foundations seem a lot pinker than I’m used to. I swatched a little bit on the back of my hand and it didn’t look too bad, to be fair. It seemed to match quite nicely.

20170201_115225

So, with dampened blending sponge in hand, I went in for the kill. It was only halfway through blending when I remembered that I’d forgotten to put on any primer. But I don’t usually wear it day-to-day so I figured it would give me a truer result.

This is after one layer.

20170201_115340

The coverage is pretty good. I only used about 2/3 of a pump as I wasn’t sure how full the coverage actually was. I’ve always been more of a medium sort of girl, but lately I’ve been wanting a little bit extra.

I’ve been having issues with my skin lately, I’m getting lots of spots, my t-zone is oily all the time and for a while I couldn’t figure out why (it was because of a combination of products I’d been using), so I’m also in need of a foundation that will cover this up. You can see that it hasn’t covered the huge spot on my chin, and there’s a LOT of redness coming through, but for one layer, I was mildly impressed. You can’t see the majority of my HUGE pores on my nose and cheeks. I didn’t apply around my eyes, so I can’t really confirm if it hides signs of fatigue.

My eyebrows were a bit dry and the foundation did cling a little bit to them, but I buffed this out and it wasn’t noticeable unless you were looking for it, close up.

The second layer.

20170201_115529

I used another 1/2 pump and blended with my sponge, again. It covered up almost all of my redness in the photo, but in real life it was still showing through a fair bit. I have naturally red cheeks and there’s not much that’s going to cover that, so I don’t mind. It didn’t completely cover the chin spot, but almost all the others were hidden nicely. It didn’t look cakey, or streaky whilst still feeling incredibly lightweight.

However, I looked a lot pinker than in the photo and I was starting to get a little bit worried that I’d chosen the completely wrong undertone. My camera is a lot more forgiving than a mirror. I decided to apply the rest of my makeup and see what the end result looked like.

I had just washed all my good makeup brushes that morning, so I only had my backups left. They aren’t good quality and so my makeup didn’t turn out as nice as it usually does.

20170201_121512

My powder set the foundation really well, but the brush scratched the shit out of my face, making it redder, which didn’t help. My concealer wasn’t doing anything for my under eye circles. The blush was also terrible, it wouldn’t blend and my eyebrows just wouldn’t cooperate. I was not having a good day.

Comparing it to L’Oreal True Match, it didn’t sink into my pores too much – even without primer. It blended lovely with a flat buffing brush

It looks fine in photos but the colour is completely wrong for me. For the first time in my life, a foundation is too pale and too pink, and now I feel a little bit lost. I mean, what colour do I choose? My skin isn’t very yellow toned, so perhaps neutral? I have no idea!

I tried it several times and each time, my face was way too pale, compared to my neck and I thought I could make it work, but no. With the rest of my makeup done, my hair down and a higher necked top, it doesn’t look terrible but it’s nowhere near great.

Yet I love the finish of this product. It’s matte, almost poreless and full coverage without being cakey one bit. I’m very impressed. I can’t say whether it lasts 24 hours, as it claims, as I usually take my makeup off after 10 hours, maximum. The only issue is I have combination skin and less than halfway through a 9 hour shift my forehead was seriously oily. I dabbed it away with some toilet paper (classy) and the product didn’t shift, which I consider a win.

The formula, for me, is brilliant and if I can find the right shade for my skin tone, I’ll be sticking with L’Oreal Infallible.

logo

Leave a Reply

