Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette

Okay, so I’m a little late to the game with this one. By now, everyone has already tried the Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette and its old news. I was SO excited when I first saw this online. Mostly because soft peachy neutrals would fit in perfectly with my growing eyeshadow collection. Also, because the packaging is gorgeous and it was actually supposed to smell like peaches. It was a little emotional.

The price tag stung a little, as it always does with high-end makeup, and I finally worked up the courage to hit checkout on the Debenhams website, on February payday. I paid for signed delivery on a day I knew I was off but then my shifts were changed and the boyfriend spent his one day off that week waiting for delivery for me. Only to have Hermes POST IT THROUGH MY LETTERBOX. But that’s a rant for another time.

When I finally got home that night, I tore open the envelope and came face to face with this beauty.

20170227_17331520170227_173333

First of all, I love the packaging. It’s cute af and magnetic, so that it doesn’t just randomly fall open and importantly, it doesn’t have a clasp that I can break.

It really smells like peaches and I’m so happy. I’ve been tempted on more than one occasion to taste the shadows and that is not a wise idea. I haven’t done it before or anything…

The shadows themselves are GORGEOUS and I love the names of them. They all relate to southern America, in one way or another, and remind me of Laura Lee.

giphy.gif

20170227_173344

First Column: White Peach, Nectar and Peaches and Cream
Second Column: Luscious, Cobbler and Georgia

20170227_173355

20170227_173535

First Column: Just Peachy, Candied Peach and Caramelized
Second Column: Bless Her Heart, Bellini and Puree

20170227_173402

20170227_173728

First Column: Tempting, Peach Put and Summer Yum
Second Column: Charmed, I’m Sure, Delectable and Talk Derby To Me

20170227_173405

20170227_173857

I couldn’t wait to start using it, but I also didn’t want to disrupt the pretty untouched pans. It took me about a week to actually swatch the colours. It felt like I was ruining the product and it was so sad.

tumblr_inline_n391zbbc581sup1ue

The formula is lovely. It’s velvety soft and seemed to blend really well on my arm. However, I was a little disappointed. Some of the shades were a little patchy; specifically Georgia, Candied Peach and Delectable. Incidentally, these are all matte, so I assumed that they would be a lot better on the eye.

There were also a few that seemed a bit lacklustre in pigmentation, like Bless Her Heart and Puree. But I didn’t let this put me off. Sometimes, shadows just need a bit of love to pay off. Yet, for the price, I was expecting them to be a bit more vibrant.

The first look I tried with this palette was in the suggestion book. I like that it was included as it gives an idea of what you can try, but I won’t necessarily wear any of the looks again. I chose Smouldering Peach as I was going out, but wasn’t after anything too simple or too dark for the day time.

20170228_13335320170228_133401

I followed the instructions, but didn’t use quite as much Delectable as I didn’t want it to be so dark. Please ignore the brows, I got carried away and didn’t notice how bold there were until I’d gone out and caught sight of myself in a window.

I found the shimmer shades easy to work with. They blended really well and had great pigmentation on the lid. Delectable, however, was a lot more difficult. It took a lot of shadow to build up in the outer corners, and it still looked quite sheer. It took some effort to blend out and I had to add a touch more of Just Peachy to blend the edges, so it wasn’t too harsh. I loved Nectar as a highlight/inner corner shade and can definitely see myself reaching for it more than the other light shades. It has some glitter fall out, but nothing that can’t be fixed with a fluffy brush.

20170228_13554520170228_135551

A few days later, I tried a basic shadow look for work. I wanted something that would give me a hint of colour, without looking made up. I used Georgia in my crease, Peaches and Cream on the lid and White Peach on the brow bone. It was very, very light but definitely there when I was in natural light. My lipstick is Nyx Lingerie in Bedtime Flirt.

I wore this from 11am to 8pm, and it had only faded a little. I was really pleased with its longevity. I had a few compliments as well, which was nice. I also decided that I actually really hate Bedtime Flirt and I’m gutted. It goes from a muted taupe nude, like the photo, to being quite orangey on the lip.

20170313_114325

My final thoughts on this palette are that, yes it’s pretty and smells great but I don’t think it’s worth £39.00 (and in the US, $49). Which is massively disappointing, as I had such high expectations. unfortunately the formula and quality is very hit and miss. So much so that I found it more difficult to work with than the cheapest of cheap brands (Makeup Revolution, MUA etc). That being said, the colours have staying power and I can see myself reaching for it a lot, especially with spring and summer coming up.

logo

 

One response to “Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette

Leave a Reply

