Garnier Micellar Cleansing Gel

One of my favourite skin care products, right now, is the Garnier Micellar Water for Combination Skin. It does an amazing job but I’ve often found myself wanting to wash it off, as it can occasionally leave a film on your skin. When ordering my giveaway prizes recently, I saw that there is now a Cleansing Gel Wash version and I was sold. No questions asked.

20170319_152240.jpg

Costing £3.99 for 200ml, the pricing is pretty similar to the micellar water but you get a lot less product. Which makes sense as it’s a gel, and you can use much less at a time. It claims to remove makeup, including eyes and lips, cleanse the skin and mattify. The water does all this for me so I had high hopes.

The bottles are very similar, except you get a pump with the gel – which is always a bonus. I much prefer these to the tubes, as you don’t have to try to reseal them without accidentally tossing your product into the sink.

It doesn’t really have much of a scent, nothing offensive anyway. It smells like mineral water, in that it’s a bit outdoorsy. If that makes sense.

The first thing I discovered is that the consistency of the gel is very, very thin and is little more than a water. To use, you dispense the required amount into your palm and work it into a later before applying and massaging into the face. I’ve found that I only need maybe half a pump of product. It’s best to work quickly as it can drip through your fingers and then you need to start over. Once massaged in, I rinse and pat dry with a towel.

It removes makeup effortlessly, but I do struggle with mascara as I go to town on my lashes. That’s down to me, not the product. I’ve found it’s amazing for my pores as well, they somehow seem to be much smaller since I’ve started using this. I don’t like to use it as an eye makeup remover too much as I have very sensitive eyes and the gel dried them out somewhat. The product is for sensitive skin, but still irritates me a bit. That’s just me, however, and it might work fine on someone who doesn’t suffer with sensitive or dry eyes.

I have a terribly oily t-zone and normal cheeks that have been a little dry lately. I’ve had dry patches around my eyebrows that are now gone. My oil levels have evened out and my face is matte for most of the day. I know this probably won’t last as my skin tends to get used to products very quickly, but I’m so pleased at how its performing.

It’s a very gentle cleanser and doesn’t leave my skin feeling stripped or tight, before I apply moisturiser. I’ve been following it up with Garnier Moisture+ Matte and some Waitrose Pure Hydration Eye Cream and my skin has never been so fresh and luminous. After twice daily usage for the last three weeks, my skin is clean, clear and a hell of a lot less oily than it has been.

I would 100% recommend this to anyone with combination skin, paired with the micellar water for tougher eye makeup removal.

logo

Leave a Reply

