My Makeup Collection: 6 Months Later

A lot has changed since my last makeup collection blog post. I did not one, not two but THREE makeup culls and disposed of a lot of out of date/dried up products – as well as donating some stuff I’d hardly used to family or friends. I’ve also bought a fair few new things to add to my growing collection, including picking up some acrylic storage units to house it all. It’s looking a bit cluttered at the moment.

Here we go then!

20170430_143805

Primers & Setting Spray

20170430_144552

Max Factor Facefinity All Day Primer
L’Oreal Infallible Mattifying Primer
L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist

I’m one of those people who, if I can’t see if something is working, I assume it’s not. So primers aren’t something that I tend to care about. I don’t know if the Max Factor one works, to be honest. I only use it for the SPF if I know I’m going to be outside all day. The L’Oreal one is new, so I’m still playing with it. The fixing mist though, I was surprised at just how good it actually is.

Foundations, Concealers & Powders

20170430_144621

Bourjois Healthy Mix in 51 Light Vanilla
L’Oreal Infallible 24 Hour Matte in 10 Porcelain
Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless in 110 Porcelain

I’ve had Healthy Mix for about a year and I don’t know if it’s just getting old, but the colour seems too dark for me. I’m saving it for the summer, just in case my skin bothers to tan even the slightest bit. I love Fit Me, and I have a review of Infallible coming, so I won’t talk about that for now.

20170430_145457

I apologise for the state of this photo, I could not get them to lie still.

Collection Lasting Perfection in 1 Fair
MUA Pro Base Prime and Conceal CC Cream in Peach
Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch in Nude

I didn’t like Lasting Perfection at first, but it’s really grown on me in the last few months. The Lumi Touch is great for highlighting on top of your regular concealer. I’m still working with the Peach CC Cream so I can’t really say if I like that one just yet.

IMG_20170422_223343_842IMG_20170422_223343_846

Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot Powder

Review coming soon…

Blushers & Bronzers

20170430_14442920170430_14445720170430_144459

Makeup Revolution Blush Palette in Sugar and Spice
Sleek Shimmer Blush in Rose Gold
Natural Collection Blush in Pink Cloud
Miss Sporty Insta Glow Blusher in 001
MUA Whipped Velvet Bronzer in Majestic Gild

I’ve made no bones about how good the palette is, especially the two highlight shades on the far right. They are stunning. The others are relatively new and I’m still figuring out what I think. The Sleek blush is meant to be a dupe for Nars Orgasm, so we shall see how that works out.

Contouring

20170430_14464920170430_144707

Makeup Revolution Ultra Pro HD Powder Contour Palette in Light
Sleek Face Contour Kit in Light
Collection Precision Contouring Stick in Light

Unfortunately, the Makeup Revolution Kit has been reformulated, so the version I have is no longer available. But trust me, it’s great. As is the Sleek kit. I’ve not tried the Collection stick yet and I can’t wait to.

Highlight

20170430_14533320170430_145356

Freedom Pro Highlight in Diffused
Technic Get Gorgeous Highlighting Powder
L’Oreal True Match Powder Glow Illuminator in Icy Glow

Most of my highlighters are in palettes and these three are my only singles. Freedom is great for a subtle, glowing look. I’ve not tried the Technic one yet. And L’Oreal is great for an all out, shine to the gods glow.

Eyebrows

20170430_144014

Soap & Glory Archery 2-in-1 Brow Filling Pencil and Brush in Brownie Points
Maybelline Brow Precise Micro Pencil in Soft Brown
Nyx Auto Eyebrow Pencil in Taupe

I’ve had similar products from the Soap & Glory Archery range, enough to know that I will love this. The Maybelline Micro Pencil is amazing, but the colours are ALL wrong. It was supposed to be soft brown but it was a dark, chocolate colour. I’m loving the Nyx Auto Brow for daily penciling, at the moment, even if it is a bit too light for me.

Eyeshadow

20170430_144112

grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen
Too Faced Sweet Peach
Zoeva Cocoa Blend
Makeup Obsession Custom Palette (eye shadow and highlight)
Makeup Revolution #Revoholic Eyes

20170430_14413120170430_14413420170430_14421320170430_144243

After my clear out, these were the only palettes I kept because I love them all and use them a lot – particularly Cocoa Blends. I love Zoeva’s formula and cannot recommend them enough. The silver and gold highlight by Makeup Obsession (shade name is Lightning) is a recent purchase – it’s absolutely stunning.

20170430_14474720170430_144804

Kiko High Pigment Wet and Dry Eyeshadow in 12 Pearly Wine

I received this in a gift bag at CarnLIVal recently, and although I’ve only used it once, I’m really impressed. The pigmentation is great, it lasts ages – even without primer.

Eyeliner and Mascara

20170430_143935

Soap & Glory Supercat Eyeliner in Carbon Black
Maybelline Master Precise Curvy in Intense Black

I suck at eyeliner and I haven’t used either of these yet. So we shall see. Youtubers like sophdoesnails and Sophie Louise love Supercat, so I can’t wait to try it out.

20170430_143958

Soap & Glory Thick and Fast HD in Black
Rimmel Extra Long Lash in Extreme Black
Derma V10 Black Mascara
L’Oreal Volume Million Lashes in Extra Black

I haven’t tried the Soap and Glory mascara yet. The Rimmel is one of my new favourites (they’ve started selling it in Superdrug now, so I can actually get a new one) and the L’Oreal is okay. The Derma V10 mascara is absolutely terrible. I keep meaning to throw it out.

and last but not least…

Lipsticks

20170430_144824

I’m going to break this down into brands, to make it easier to get through. I don’t own too many lipsticks but there’s enough that it took forever to take photos, edit and upload.

20170430_144917

W7 Mega Matte Lips in Nude

I picked this up from my local B&M as it was only £1.99. After looking on W7’s website, it should be £4.95. Get down to B&M because this is actually a great liquid lipstick.

20170104_15214820170104_1521580

Sleek Matte Me Liquid Lipstick in Velvet Slipper

I’ve spoken a lot about this before. Great product, gorgeous colour.

20170430_144939

L.A. Girl Matte Flat Velvet in Snuggle

One of my favourite traditional matte lipsticks. This colour is a stunning deep nude and not in any way dehydrating on the lips.

20170430_145147.jpg

Collection Velvet Kiss in Caramel
Collection Velvet Kiss in Blackberry
Collection Velvet Kiss in Rosie

For £2.99 these lip creams are AMAZING and comparable if not better than Nyx Soft Matte. They are completely opaque, dry down completely matte within a few minutes and do not budge. I’ve worn these through a full day at work, eating and drinking both hot and cold things and found that I only need a little touch up. Blackberry is a little bit patchy but nothing that can’t be worked with. 100% recommend these!

20170430_144959

Soap & Glory Sexy Mother Pucker Matte Lip in Berry Much

One of my least favourite products. It’s too creamy and has no staying power. The colour is gorgeous though.

20170430_145007

Zuii Organic Flora Lip Tint in Tulip

This is supposed to be a tint but its a gloss. I don’t wear them but, the colour is stunning so I might try it out. It was a freebie from CarnLIVal, I haven’t shelled out any money, but it costs $24.95 AUD, so I feel like I’m obligated to give it a good go.

20170430_145021

Rimmel Moisture Renew in Diva Red

I’ve had this for YEARS and I don’t wear it often, but it’s my go-to red when I’m not feeling the matte look.

20170430_145121

Nyx Liquid Suede in Club Hopper (brown)
Nyx Liquid Suede in Subversive Socialite (purple)

I’m just going to come out and say it, I don’t like the Liquid Suede formulas. They don’t dry down properly, and they stay tacky. The colours are beautiful but everything else is a failure.

Nyx Soft Matte in Transylvania
Nyx Soft Matte in Rome
Nyx Soft Matte in London
Nyx Soft Matte in Zürich

These are my favourite of Nyx’s formulas. They dry matte, are comfortable to wear and stay put all day – but can be removed easily with makeup remover. Zürich is my newest addition but I’m not sure how I feel about it. It looks a little too pink for me.

20170430_145208

No7 Stay Perfect in Deep Rust

Another freebie. I’m not sure how I feel about the colour. It’s much more orange toned than I would normally go for. We shall see.

20170430_145227

Illamasqua Antimatter Lipstick in Quartz

Eeeehh….pink is not my colour. I want to make this work. Mostly because Illamasqua (or, as I’ve always read it, Llama Squad) is expensive af.

20170430_145244

Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution in Love Liberty.

This was a gift from my bestie and the most gorgeous berry shade of lipstick I’ve ever seen. I don’t wear it too often because I feel guilty using it.

20170430_145304

Makeup Revolution Ultra Amplification in Activate

I was furious that the colour on the website is NOT the colour in the tube. It was the right product, but the shade is so sheer and satin, with pink undertones when the website made it look like a medium cool brown. I kind of like it though.

20170430_145320

Makeup Geek Plush Matte Lip in Bachelorette (pink)
Makeup Geek Plush Matte Lip in Daredevil (lilac)

Bright colours are usually not my thing but I’m really loving Daredevil. I’ve not be daring enough to wear it outside just yet, but who knows. Summer is coming up and these are bright enough shades for it.

So there we have it, my new makeup collection. As you could probably tell (if you read the last one), a few things made the cut, but it’s almost all new from the last 6 months. I’m considering doing this each November and May, to see how much my collection has grown and changed. What do you think?

logo

Leave a Reply

