Sleek Shimmer Blush (NARS Dupe?)

After chucking out ol’ faithful (my No7 blush/bonzer duo I’d had for almost a decade), I was desperately in need of new blusher options. I picked up a palette, a few cheap duos and I wasn’t that impressed. So I did a little research and decided I wanted NARS Orgasm. But was I about to drop £23.00 on ONE blusher?

All_of_us

If you thought I might, you are in the wrong place, my friend.

So, I did the next best thing. I went looking for a dupe. Turns out, I didn’t have to look too far. Sleek, a brand I have a little experience with, had a colour dupe in their Shimmer Blush Range; Rose Gold, a slightly less pigmented, but still equally gorgeous shade.

When it was finally delivered (and by delivered, I mean Royal Mail knocked on my door and ran away), I was surprised at how much darker the colour was, compared to the picture on the Superdrug website. Superdrug made it seem a bit more peach toned but this is definitely rosey. Which is not a bad thing. I like a dark blush, ngl.

20170420_12353820170420_123528

I love Sleek’s packaging. It makes the product seem a lot more luxurious than it is. Usually, they can be on the flimsy side but this little blush was hella difficult to open.

20170420_12355820170420_12360420170420_123614

I was a little worried about the sheer volume of glitter in this small pan. I love highlight as much as the next girl, but it was a bit much for me. On swatching, it didn’t seem to be too glowy, and I felt a bit better about it. The colour definitely isn’t as dark, or as pigmented as it looks in the pan, which was a bit of a surprise and a relief. Pigmented blushes are SO difficult to work with.

The first time I wore this, I applied my usual small amount of product onto the apples of my cheeks, blending upwards to my cheekbones. After a few minutes, I looked back and was like, damn, where did my blush go?

Do you see it?

20170423_140844

I can’t tell if the pink is the remainder of the redness in my cheeks that my foundation never covers, or a hint of blush. Either way, I wasn’t impressed.

The next time I wore it, I applied a LOT and in my mirror, it still looked pretty sheer. On the right, you can see a bit of pink, but on the left there’s nothing except a patch of natural redness of my cheeks that’s always there.

20170428_131745.jpg

I’m not crazy on the pigmentation of this product at all. Perhaps its just my skin type as so many people have had success. Or maybe I was just having bad foundation days on the occasions I have worn it. It could simply be too natural for how I like my makeup to look.

Because I can’t even see it on the skin, I can’t tell you whether it’s patchy, has longevity or anything. I’m so disappointed. Right now, I’m not exactly struck with this blush. I’ll keep going and see how if I can get some colour from it in the future.

logo

6 responses to “Sleek Shimmer Blush (NARS Dupe?)

  1. I was rooting for it to be a Nars dupe as I’ve been wanting one but not wanting to actually spend the cash. It sucks that it is sooo sheer! You’re not alone with Superdrug pictures, I often find the actual product is darker than the picture on the website.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

