L’Oreal Infallible 24 Hour Matte Foundation

A few months ago, I tried the L’Oreal Infallible Foundation and I was less than impressed. Recently, after doing a bit more research and colour swatching, I found their 24 Hour Matte version. I have to admit, I was not exactly thrilled about the idea, but the colour was a good match and it was on offer, so I thought I would try it out.

20170423_11482220170423_114848

The foundation comes in a tube, with a very thin nossle that I’ve seen many people apply directly to their face. Seems a bit unhygienic, but each to their own. I squeezed a bit on the back of my hand and dotted it around my face. The formula is thin once dispensed, but when you start to blend it does thicken up a bit, which gives the impression you will achieve more coverage than you do. I blended it in with a damp blending sponge and was not amazed by the coverage. It was medium at best.

Not deterred, I applied another thin layer with the blending sponge and found that it was much better. It’s in no way full coverage but it was a nice medium. I’ve found that it blends nicely with a sponge, but it’s not the best to use with a brush as it can be streaky. The colour is a bit light for me, but it can’t be warmed up. If I can’t get a perfect match, I’d always rather get too light than too dark.

I primed with L’Oreal Infallible Primer, set it with Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot setting powder and at the end, sealed all my makeup with a few generous sprays of L’Oreal Infallible Fixing Mist, then went about my day.

The boyfriend and I had a day off together (for a change), so we went into Liverpool to see his great, great, (great?) granddad’s exhibition at the Maritime Museum, before spending the afternoon playing retro games and eating fries in Dough Bar. We left the house at around 8.45am and returned just after 5.30pm.I did not touch up, blot or anything throughout the day, because I never do. The weather was mild, a bit rainy, but it was in no way humid or extreme.

Unfortunately, I forgot to take a photo of the finished look in the morning as we were pretty busy. But, here is one from a few days earlier when I was getting ready to go out. The base makeup is exactly the same. I loved it when it was first done. It looks natural but more flawless than I’ll ever be.

20170511_180024

By the time I got home, I looked like this:

20170512_150929

My foundation had broken apart completely, taking the rest of the base makeup with it.

The foundation had brought out dry patches on my skin that I hadn’t even known where there! These seemed to be predominantly around my eyebrows, my upper cheeks and on the top of my nose (which is never dry at all). The foundation on my cheeks, jaw line and edges of my forehead were gone. The product left was concentrated in the middle on my forehead and nose, and had gone patchy and seemed to ball up. I was shiny and out of control.

Since then, I’ve worn it a few times and not been impressed. It always seems to end up looking a bit patchy and dry on my skin. It sinks into the pores on and around my nose, making them look even more huge than they are.

It’s okay for a few hours here and there, but I couldn’t wear this to work, or anywhere exposed to the elements. Which sort of defeats the point of an everyday foundation. I don’t think I’ve ever had a foundation that has performed this poorly. I’m so disappointed, especially considering I used it with the Infallible Primer and Fixing Mist – which are supposed to work better together (I don’t care for the primer at all, but the fixing mist does actually perform when used with my Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless).

I think the problem is that although I want to love L’Oreal foundations, but they just don’t work for my skin. Matte foundations in general don’t seem to be very good for me. It looks like it’s time to go back to the drawing board.

logo

10 responses to “L’Oreal Infallible 24 Hour Matte Foundation

Leave a Reply

