Soap & Glory Thick and Fast Mascara

I have short, stubby lashes that fall out easily, and mascara is one of those things that I didn’t really appreciate until lately. I always have one on hand, whichever one was on offer, and thought that I had a holy grail, which turned out to be so-so. It wasn’t until I tried my new favourite, Barry M That’s How I Roll, that I realised I had requirements for my lash makeup. I’m not that fussy, I just know what I want. I need my mascara to be:

  • Volumising/thickening
  • Curling
  • Lengthening
  • Non-transferable
  • Easy to remove.

So, you know, I’m not asking for the earth.

Recently, I came across the Soap & Glory™ Thick & Fast HD Mascara High Definition Collagen Coat Mascara. Say that seven times fast.

Untitled

Sounds promising, right?

20170430_14395820170422_125646_001

The packaging is gorgeous. I mean, the barrel is gold! Soap & Glory always hit it out of the park when it comes to packaging. I’m not one of those people who falls for a product solely because it’s nicely wrapped, but I do appreciate it.

If I’m honest, if I hadn’t known the wand was fancy, I wouldn’t have noticed. I never do. You could tell me a mascara wand is all singing, all dancing and could knit me a jumper, compared to one that’s basic, I’d just go “Yup” and wouldn’t be able to tell the difference. It makes no odds to me as long as it works.

On first layer and first impressions, I wasn’t sold.

The wand is very awkward to use. I followed the instructions and ending up with it transferring onto my eye lid and lower lash line. However, it’s very separating, which is nice, yet not so much that I’m over the moon about it. After a second layer, my lashes were a bit thicker, but nothing to write home about. There’s very little volume to speak of, and it didn’t curl or lengthen my lashes at all. So the mascara wasn’t off to a good start.

20170512_150943

In hindsight, I do really like the way it makes my lashes look.

I wore it all day, from about 8.30am to 5.30pm without looking in a mirror until I got home and I have to say, I was impressed. The colour was still dark black and although the little volume I had achieved had dissipated, the product was definitely still there. It hadn’t flaked, smudged or faded.

I’ve worn this a few times, during the day but it’s definitely not a mascara for statement makeup. It’s not something I could wear on a night out, it just doesn’t give enough definition for me. But it’s nice for casual, basic makeup looks.

To remove, I use a little bit of Soap & Glory Peaches and Clean, then clean up with some Garnier Micellar Water and it comes off incredibly easily. The real test is when I get out of the shower and, the first time I tried this I found not a speck of mascara smeared under my eyes. I’ve never had a mascara remove so easily and completely.

Would I repurchase this mascara? Most likely, no. It’s nice but its too subtle for me. I like a mascara that looks like you’re wearing one. However, if you like the natural look then you may love this. The longevity and ease of removal is fantastic and I cannot fault it there at all. It’s definitely brilliant for travelling as you won’t have to lug around tonnes of different makeup removing products just to get it off your face. It’s also great on sensitive eyes, which I have, and it didn’t bother mine one bit.

logo

8 responses to “Soap & Glory Thick and Fast Mascara

Leave a Reply

