Updated: My Daily Makeup Routine

Looking back over my blog posts recently, I spotted My Daily Makeup Routine from back in January and I was not amused. It was awful. Bad brows, cheap lipstick and no under eye coverage to speak of. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not amazing at makeup. I have a pretty average grasp of the whole thing. But, my makeup skills have increased sevenfold since then. I thought that it was time for an update.

As always, I start with skin care. Taking care of your skin makes you feel and look better in the long run, so I try to look after mine as best I can. I don’t wear makeup every day, but when I do, I have a basic look I favour.

Pre-Makeup
Cleanser: Garnier SkinActive Naturals Green Tea Gel Wash
Toner: Garnier SkinActive Naturals Green Tea Toner
Moisturiser: Garnier SkinActive Naturals Green Tea Moisturiser
Eye Cream: Waitrose Pure Hydration Eye Cream

IMG_20170512_225803_828

Step One: Primer
Unlike January me, I prefer to prime these days. Currently I’m using L’Oreal Infallible Primer Matte Base and honestly, I’m not thrilled with the whole Infallible line. I’m trying out new primers currently, until I find one that I actually like and works for me. Until then, this is what I’m working with. I dot it on my forehead, cheeks, chin and nose, then work in with a buffing brush.

Step Two: Foundation
I have two foundations that I’m currently using and unfortunately, this is because they are the only ones that match me. If I had better foundations in the right shades then I would not reach for them. Today, I picked the L’Oreal Infallible 24 Hour Matte in shade Porcelain. Like the primer, I dot this on my face and blend in using my blending sponge.

20170523_164901

Step Three: Concealer
I like to use two concealers for my under eye area, the Collection Lasting Perfection in Fair 1 and Maybelline Dream Touch Lumi in Nude. Alone, they don’t give me enough coverage or vibrance, but together they cover my dark circles and make me look more awake. I draw these in lines, triangularly, under my eyes and dot Collection Lasting perfection on any blemishes, as well as on the bridge of my nose, blending in with the blending sponge.

20170523_165253

Step Four: Contour
I have a very oval-shaped face. Without contouring, I resemble an egg. I don’t go nuts, just give myself a little definition with my Collection Contour Stick in Light. I draw lines just beneath my cheekbones, along the perimeter of my jawline and forehead, and on my nose, buffing in with the blending sponge.

20170523_165602

Step Five: Powder
I seal it all in with my Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot transparent powder, focusing on the under eyes so that they don’t crease, as well as any areas that get oily throughout the day.

20170523_165612

Step Six: Blush
I feel a bit one-dimensional without blush, and prefer matte over shimmery, so this Essence Matt Touch Blush in Berry Me Up is perfect for me. I dab a tiny amount on the apples of my cheeks, and blend towards my hair-line, just above my contour, with a fluffy brush.

Step Seven: Brows
Soap & Glory Archery makes the best brow shade for me, Brownie Points, and I love their micro pencil for filling it. I shape my brows as best I can, brushing out the excess with the spoolie end. I love how they still look natural but defined.

20170523_16581420170523_170240

Step Eight: Highlight
The highlight I used today was by Technic. Taking a flat foundation brush (I don’t know why, but I prefer these to fluffy brushes when applying highlight), I dapple it along the eye socket and cheekbones, dab a bit on the high points of my forehead, bridge and tip of my nose and under my eyebrows. If I’m feeling a bit extra, I also use it on the inner corners of my eyes to make me look more awake. It’s very subtle.

Step Nine: Eyeshadow
For day-to-day makeup, I like something neutral that makes my eye colour pop. My favourite shades are actually from my Makeup Revolution Ultra Pro HD Contour Palette. I blend the two shades below into my crease and along my lower lash line.

Then take this shade across the lid.

20170523_170906

20170523_171038

Step Ten: Mascara
Recently, I’ve really been liking the Soap & Glory Thick and Fast mascara. At first, I wasn’t impressed but the more I’ve used it, the more I’ve fallen for it. The mascara leaves my lashes looking separated and defined, it doesn’t flake and lasts all day. I apply two coats for a more voluminous look.

20170523_17112320170523_171403

Step Eleven: Lips
My favourite lipstick at the moment is the Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in London. I’ve been wearing it constantly since I bought it. Just one coat of this and I’m done.

I love a neutral look for day time. This skin care and makeup routine only takes about 20 minutes, so it definitely is a time saver if you’re up and out before dawn, like I am. Compared to January, I really think my makeup has improved. Do you?

logo

5 responses to “Updated: My Daily Makeup Routine

  1. I think it has improved! It didn’t really look bad but it has gone from good to better! I’m an egg face too, maybe i should venture into contouring too to try to fix it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

