Makeup Revolution New-Trals vs Neutrals (ABH Renaissance dupe?)

I tend to play it safe with eyeshadows. I know what types of shades I like and tend to stick with that. But, when I do feel a little more daring I have nothing to work with. So, I decided to expand my collection and when I recently spotted the Anastasia Beverly Hills Renaissance palette, the colours spoke to me. However, I wasn’t sure that once I got them on my face that I would actually like them. And that palette is not cheap. So, I decided to try out a few colour dupes.

After a few minutes research, I quickly came across the Makeup Revolution New-Trals vs Neutrals Palette for only £6.99. The colours were lovely and seemed to be quite similar to the ABH palette, so I thought why not. Except it was constantly sold out. Fast forward four months, and I finally managed to get hold of it.

Unlike other Makeup Revolution palettes, the lid is matte and rubbery – which I do like, it gives it a fancy touch.

20170517_12192120170517_121857

You get 16 shades and a dual ended brush for £6.99, which is a steal. I may or may not use the brush. The ones that come with palettes are usually a bit naff, but this one seems ok. One end is a packer brush and the other, a dense blending brush.

20170517_12193820170517_121945

The colours are gorgeous and not totally dissimiliar to the ABH palette.

As usual, Makeup Revolution did not let me down with the pigmentation of the shades.

IMG_20170517_155953_199

Left: Top Row
Right: Bottom Row

The first time I tried out the shades, I was pleasantly surprised at how blendable they were. Sometimes, with less expensive products, they can be a bit chalky, or difficult to work with, but all of the colours in this palette were easy to use.

For the look below, I swept Neutral into the crease, buffed Adapt into the outer corner and underneath the lower lash line, and pressed a tiny bit of Style on the inner corners, with a little Bias under the brow bone. Okay, so this wasn’t exactly out of my comfort zone but, it’s a good example of how the eyeshadows actually performed.

20170518_101224

I’m not loving that lip colour.

I went to see my bestie, leaving the house at 10am and returning around 6.30pm. I had not touched up my makeup at all during this time. As you can see below, my foundation disappeared in the humidity and my face was incredibly oily.

I look so happy…

20170518_183751

The eyeshadow faded a bit and creased, but it was still very much there when I got home. I didn’t use primer and forget to prep my eyelids with concealer. I was so impressed with its longevity for such a low price. Also, I’m coming around to that Soap & Glory Mascara. It’s working for me lately.

20170518_183747

The creasing and fading is about the same as my Too Faced Sweet Peach palette, which is high-end, which was a bit of a surprise.

I’m really impressed with New-Trals vs Neutrals. It’s pigmented, blendable, long-lasting and affordable.

logo

2 responses to “Makeup Revolution New-Trals vs Neutrals (ABH Renaissance dupe?)

Leave a Reply

