Makeup Geek Plush Matte Lipsticks

For the last few months I’ve been really into matte lipstick. I’ve never been one for shine or gloss (ew), so it was really my only option. Thanks to it being a trend, I’ve had many to choose from. My favourite types are the creamy liquid lipsticks, like Nyx Soft Matte. At CarnLIVal back in April, the goody bag contained two Plush Matte lip creams from the brand Makeup Geek. I’d heard of them, from the Manny MUA collab, but never had the chance to try them before.

The colours I received were the shocking neon pink Bachelorette and the gorgeous, vivid lilac Daredevil.

20170604_135336

Both are colours I NEVER in a million years would have purchased and at first I was a tiny bit disappointed that I wouldn’t get much use out of them. Until I swatched them, that is. I’ve never been one for anything pink, or bright shades, and it took a bit of getting used to, but once I did, I actually loved both colours.

The formula is incredible. It’s highly pigmented, soft and moussey but so easy to work with. It wasn’t difficult to get a decent application with such bold colours, which was a huge surprise. I’m usually so messy when it comes to putting lipstick on, but the applicator made it easy. It’s a flat fluffy sponge, that is just firm enough that you don’t have to apply any pressure.

20170523_172155.jpg

It dries at a nice speed, not too fast so that you are able to quickly correct any mistakes. However, they’re not transfer proof at all and will come off pretty easily on mugs, your hand, etc. This doesn’t bother me much, I can live with touch ups. They don’t last a very long time, if you’re not eating or drinking, but neither do they disappear. The colours fade a bit, but they are definitely still there.

The lipsticks are really comfortable to wear. They don’t crack or dry your lips out. In fact, it feels like you’re wearing nothing at all. They also remove easily with a makeup wipe, or micellar water. My only gripe is that Bachelorette stained my lips and anywhere I accidentally smudged it. Within seconds. Literally. I looked like I’d scrubbed at my mouth for hours, afer removing it the first time. And I’d only worn it for about 4 minutes, max. That’s not the end of the world and with a stronger makeup remover, it probably wouldn’t be too bad. Daredevil, however, removes without any staining.

The product also smells strange, but in a nice way. There is a chemical undertone which reminds me of old school roller ball lip glosses, but there’s also a gorgeous citrus and mint scent to it that overpowers anything else.

After much deliberation, I decided that the best way to style both of these colours is to pair them with a natural highlight and taupe eyeshadow. See below. I think it looks pretty, if I say so myself. I’m a believer in playing up one feature at a time, so if I’m going all out with my lips, my eyes need to take a step back.

Out of the two colours, I will wear Daredevil again. Bachelorette is lovely, but I don’t know when or wear I would use it. I’ll see how this summer goes. You never know!

I was so impressed with the Plush Matte lipsticks that I actually purchased two more recently; Tomboy and Urbanista. The two purple shades below are more my style.

The darker colours are a little patchy, compared to the others, but nothing you can’t work with. Although they are quite similar, I definitely prefer Tomboy. It’s grey undertones mean that I can wear it day-to-day.

Left: Tomboy
Right: Urbanista

Have you tried anything from Makeup Geek?

logo

2 responses to “Makeup Geek Plush Matte Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

