My Current Evening Skin Care Routine

For me, teenage skin came in my mid twenties. Before, I’d had imperfections but never to the degree I now suffer from. Oily t-zone, dry patches, open pores, blackheads, whiteheads, those horrible painful spots that are always in an inconvenient place, broken veins, redness in my cheeks, discolouration – I could go on. As you can imagine, skin care has become part and parcel of my daily life. I’ve yet to find my holy grail products, but I’m making headway. Or at least I like to think I am.

20170607_165557

To begin, I remove my makeup with Soap & Glory Peaches and Clean Deep Cleansing Milk. I bought this when it was on offer, not thinking it would be any good compared to my usual favourite makeup remover (Garnier Micellar Water). I dispense 3 pumps into my hand and rub into my face. Eyes, lips et al. The makeup literally melts away, no scrubbing or tugging required. Even liquid lipstick! I love this stuff, especially for heavy-duty makeup. And it smells like peaches. With my makeup removed, I wash off the cleanser and pat my face dry on a towel.

20170607_165845

Before and After

Once my makeup is gone, I apply a face mask. My go-to is the L’Oreal Pure Clay Purity Mask. You can read more about this mask here. I leave this on for 5-10 minutes and then wash away with warm water.

After my mask, I move onto my second cleanser. I’m a fan of the double cleanse as it makes my skin feel really clean. At night, I always use Vichy Normaderm 3 in 1 Cleansing Scrub Mask as I can scrub away any dead skin and dry patches, as well as thoroughly cleaning out my pores by using my Pore Cleansing Pad. Once I’m satisfied my face is cleansed enough, I wash it off and pat dry, again.

Next is toner. I’ve never been a huge fan of toners, mostly because I didn’t know what their purpose was until recently. Toners balance the skin’s PH levels, remove any remaining dirt and shrink the pores. I’ve been using Garnier Skin Active Green Tea Toner for the last few months, religiously, and I can’t say whether my pores are smaller, but my skin has definitely been clearer (but for the odd spot) and seems more balanced.

20170607_165849

Whilst the toner is drying, I move onto eye cream. I read somewhere that you’re supposed to apply eye creams before moisturiser as it forms a barrier to reduce puffiness. I didn’t believe this, but it definitely works. As someone who regularly rises at 5.30am, I saw the difference in a matter or days. I’ve been using Waitrose Pure Hydration Eye Cream for a few months and I’m enjoying it. Read more on this product here.

20170607_165910

My final step is to moisturise. I bought my first face moisturiser when I was in my late teens, which is probably a little late by some standards but, my skin was pretty good back then. I never felt like I needed it. Now, I can’t go a day without it. Right now, I’m using Garnier Skin Active Green Tea Moisturiser and I’m not sure how I feel about it. The smell is gorgeous and I love the consistency (it’s on the thicker side and slightly tacky, but goes on like velvet).

20170607_165905

I often slick on some lip balm and then I’m done!

logo

3 responses to “My Current Evening Skin Care Routine

Leave a Reply

