De-Cluttering My Skin Care

I’m something of a hoarder when it comes to body products. I buy and store, I’ll use them a couple of times and then they’ll go into The Drawer and I’ll probably never look at them again. It’s a problem. It’s also a waste of money and a waste of space. So, on my quest for storage room, I decided to finally do a full de-clutter of everything in my bathroom and dresser drawers.

The Rules

  1. Throw away anything I’m not going to use that has already been opened or questionably out of date.
  2. Give away anything I won’t use that’s unopened.
  3. Unless it causes a bad reaction, I have to use up everything that’s left
  4. No buying things just for the blog

I did this very Fleur DeForce, by getting everything out, sorting into sections then sorting it into Keep, Throw Away and Donate. I’ll separate it into categories, to make it easier to read.

Bubble Bath

20170719_172649

Keep
All of them.

The Verdict
I kept all of these because I use them fairly often, particularly Radox Sleep Easy. They will be gone within six months and there aren’t too many of them to store.

Shower Gels

20170719_172351.jpg

Keep
Lush Beautiful Shower Gel
Lush Twilight Shower Gel
Lush The Olive Branch Shower Gel
Lush Karma Shower Jelly
Baylis and Harding Beauticology Strawberry Swirl
Imperial Leather Revitalising Water Sapphire and Peppermint
Crabtree & Evelyn Citron Bath and Shower Gel
The Body Shop Honey Mania Shower Gel
Mario Badescu AHA Botanical Body Soap sample
Soap and Glory Sugar Crush mini
Soap and Glory Clean On Me mini

20170719_172314

Nearly Empty
Imperial Leather Foamburst Lime & Grapefruit
Lush Snow Fairy Shower Gel
Lush Twilight Shower Gel
Lush Prince Charming Shower Gel

20170719_172234

Throw Away
Over The Moon About Mandarin and Patchouli Body Wash
Baylis and Harding Sweet Mandarin and Grapefruit Body Wash
Baylis and Harding Cherry Candy Cane Body Wash

The Verdict
I did not get rid of as much as I thought I would. Obviously, I kept the nearly empties because they had a shower or two left in them. But the rest are things that I will definitely use and really like. I only threw out the ones I haven’t touched in more than six months.

Shampoo
20170719_174116

Keep
Boots Fresh Apple and Crisp Shampoo
Superdrug Extracts Grapefruit and Papaya Shampoo
Charles Worthing Salon At Home Strength and Repair Shampoo

Throw Away
XHC Coconut Water Shampoo

The Verdict
Charles Worthington is almost empty, Boots is a third full and Superdrug is brand new to replace both of them. I think that’s pretty ok, except that I didn’t realise it was fine hair and I might have made a huge mistake. The Coconut Water one is crap though, let me tell you. Don’t waste your money unless you like sticky, tangled hair.

Conditioner

20170719_172729.jpg

Keep
Boots Fresh Apple and Crisp Conditioner
Superdrug Extracts Grapefruit and Papaya Conditioner
Charles Worthing Salon At Home Strength and Repair Conditioner

Throw Away
XHC Coconut Water Conditioner

The Verdict
It’s the same as the shampoos. I repeat, don’t waste your money on XHC.

Body Butters and Lotions

20170719_174555

Keep
Soap and Glory The Righteous Butter, big and small pots
Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Butter x 2
Soap and Glory Butter Yourself
Soap and Glory Flirtigo Body Moisturising Mist
Dove DermaSpa Body Lotion, pot and tube
The Body Shop Clementine Body Puree
The Body Shop Pink Grapefruit Body Puree
Lush Karma Kream x 2
Lush Sympathy For the Skin
Lush Vanilla Dee-Lite
Mario Badescu Olive Oil Body Lotion sample

20170719_174451.jpg

Throw Away/Donate
Evelyn & Crabtree Citron Body Lotion (to donate)
Over The Moon About Mandarin & Patchouli Body Cream
DermaV10 Cranberry Body Butter (to donate)
The Body Shop Vanilla Body Butter
The Body Shop Coconut Body Butter
Lush Celebrate Hand & Body Lotion

The Verdict
I threw away a fair bit from this one, mostly things that I haven’t used since before Christmas. I separated two things to donate as well, which is not so bad.

Misc

Keep
Soap and Glory Scrub of Your Life
Lush First Snow Dusting Powder
The Body Shop Honeymania Soap

Donate
Crazy Angel Golden Ease Gradual Tan

Throw Away
The Organic Shop Hair Mask

The Verdict
I have only got one scrub left and I’m a bit uneasy about that. I haven’t even opened the dusting powder, so that’s staying. I’m going to give the tan to my mum, I think. I’m too pale for anything labelled Medium. And that hair mask smelled funky, it had to go.

Hand Creams

20170719_174700.jpg

Keep
Dove DermaSpa Hand Treatment
Soap and Glory Hand Food in Sugar Crush (full)
Soap and Glory Hand Food

Throw Away
Soap and Glory Hand Food in Sugar Crush (half empty)
Avon Care Cocoa Butter Hand Lotion

The Verdict
That open Soap and Glory Hand Food is definitely about 3 years old. They don’t make that packaging anymore and the Avon was pretty much empty, although it looks full, plus I didn’t really like it. Not a great sort out, considering I have another 3 hand creams in my bag…

Foot Products

20170719_174751.jpg

Keep
All of them.

The Verdict
I’ve only bought all of these items in the last two months (apart from the No7 Softening Foot Balm). My feet really need sorting out as I wear steel toe cap boots all day and they are not kind, so these will all be contributing.

Are you ready for the finale? I’ve had to separate this into more than 5 sections, as it was just a mess.

Skin Care

20170719_174833

Masks

20170719_175108.jpg

Keep
All of it

The Verdict
The L’Oreal Clay mask has one application left, the eye masks are one use each and I haven’t opened the Superdrug one.

Treatments

20170719_175142.jpg

Keep
All of it.

The Verdict
I’m using two of them, and two are brand new.

Toner

20170719_175205.jpg

Keep
Garnier SkinActive Purifying Green Tea Toner

Throw Away
Simple Kind To Skin Soothing Toner

The Verdict
I’m never going to use the rest of that Simple toner. I’m happy with my toner stash, but Garnier has about half left and I’ll need to replace it in the near future.

Eye Creams

20170719_175238.jpg

Keep
DermaV10 Q10 Eye Cream
DermaV10 Caviar Radiance Eye Cream
Garnier Ultra Lift Intensive Serum
Superdrug Vitamin E Nourishing Eye Cream

Throw Away
Boots Botanics Radiant Youth Eye Roll On
Waitrose Pure Hydrating Eye Cream

The Verdict
I’ve got a little stock pile of/obsession with eye creams and I need to slow my roll. I HATE the Boots one and the Waitrose isn’t doing anything for me anymore. I have a few back ups and I’m currently using the Caviar Radiance (which is surprisingly good).

Face Scrubs

20170719_175336.jpg

Keep
All of them.

The Verdict
I was a bit undecided about this one. I’m not in love with the L’Oreal scrub (it does the job though) and the Vichy one is a bit harsh – but I do like it as a mask. I don’t want to chuck either away in case I hate the St Ive’s scrub. I used it when I was a teenager but I don’t remember if I liked it or not. I’m holding on to all three for now.

Face Wipes

20170719_175352.jpg

Keep
Both

The Verdict
One is for day, one is for night. I do use face wipes quite often, just for a quick freshen up during the course of the day and to help remove makeup at night. I’ve not tried the Newtons Labs yet, but I’m excited to.

Face Creams

20170719_175421

Keep
All of them.

The Verdict
The Garnier is nearly empty, the Cetaphil are samples, the Simply Pure is to replace the Garnier, the SkinChemist (pink), is a freebie to test, the review is coming soon fyi, and the other two haven’t been opened as I’m saving them for colder months. I know it’s excessive, but this should see me through until at least January.

Cleansers

20170719_175535.jpg

Keep
Waitrose Micellar Water
Garnier Micellar Water for Combination Skin
Garnier SkinActive Green Tea Cleanser
Garnier Micellar Water for Sensitive Skin
Mario Badescu Glycolic Foaming Cleanser sample
Cetaphil Cleanser sample
Soap and Glory Peaches and Clean Cleansing Milk
Biore Pore Minimising Charcoal Cleanser

Throw Away
Garnier Micellar Cleansing Gel for Combination Skin

The Verdict
Hi, my name’s Michala and I go back on everything I say. Never using charcoal products again am I. Tsk. I couldn’t help myself when I saw the words “pore minimising”.

The Combination Micellar Water is nearly empty, just a few goes left, so I have Waitrose as my back up and my mum gave me the Sensitive Micellar as she isn’t a fan. I know I’ll use it, so it stays. The samples also stay as I can take them travelling (if I ever leave the house smh). The others are all used on a semi-daily basis.

 

I feel somewhat cleansed after sorting all that out. It’s crazy how much stuff I buy and never use. I’ve also got emptied an entire drawer. I’m obviously not going to say I’ll stop buying things (because I’d be lying to myself), but I’ll definitely go easy in the future and only buy things that I know I will use.

logo

2 responses to “De-Cluttering My Skin Care

Leave a Reply

