skinChemists Rose Quartz Hydrating & Illuminating Day Moisturiser

Disclaimer: I received this product in exchange for an honest review.

I’m on a skin care kick of late. Mostly because my face resembles a buttered crumpet right now and I don’t particularly want to keep it that way. So, when skinChemists approached me to try out their Rose Quartz Hydrating & Illuminating Day Moisturiser, I wasn’t going to say no.

The product retails for £89.90 for 50ml and according to their website “is formulated with nourishing and hydrating actives, to smooth, illuminate and refine the skin while protecting against daily environmental damage”. It arrived within a day or two, which is always a nice bonus, and when I unwrapped it, I wasn’t exactly shook. The packaging is nice, but is it £89.90 nice…no.

20170701_17194020170701_172028

I expected it to feel a bit more luxe than it does. The entire bottle is plastic. At the very least they could’ve used glass for the frosted section. If I had paid that much I would not have been very pleased with the corner cutting. If you’re paying premium, you expect premium. However, it was a freebie so beggars can’t be choosers on this occasion.

The product itself, I’m still on the fence about.

I love anything rose scented, so this was right up my street. It’s very strongly scented when dispensed (the pump is pretty good quality) but once it’s applied to your face, you can’t smell it at all. However, after a while, even the thought of using it made me feel a bit sick. The scent can be a bit too powerful for everyday use.

At first, the colour put me off using it. Sometimes skin care with a colour to it can leave a cast on your face and I was a little worried, so I tested it on the back of my hand first. Once you begin working the product into your skin, it loses its colour and becomes clear. It also sinks into the skin within a few seconds. When some moisturisers do this, my skin can still feel dry and dehydrated but with this, my skin was instantly softened and supple, with only one pump.

Although this product is intended for dry skin, it worked fine for my combination skin. My t-zone wasn’t overly oily after using this, if anything it was exactly the same as when I use my normal moisturiser. I can’t see how this would be hydrating enough if you have dry skin, as it was just fine for me and most days I end up oily af anyway.

This is not a glittery or shimmery product (thank all that is good in the world), as my face does not need any more shine to it. However, it does give you a nice healthy glow that lasts all day. Or, at least until I get to work and all the dust in the world clings to my skin. I’ve also found that, despite only using a single pump each time, I’ve gone through a significant amount of product. So, make of that what you will.

After using it for about a month I didn’t see any changes in my skin, but then again it isn’t intended for my skin type. I do like the way it feels so I will definitely finish the bottle, but it’s not something I would ever repurchase. Especially considering the price and the fact this did not seem to do anything.

logo

Leave a Reply

